Timber construction for the senses

With its light and dark clinker brick facade, the mosque in Cambridge, England, is in perfect sympathy with the surrounding rows of typical houses. The timber construction becomes clearly apparent in the entrance area, where the first of the thirty timber columns can be seen as they soar upwards like trees, merging with the lattice-like ceiling structure to form a vast tracery of timber. In addition to a prayer hall with a ceiling height of 8.5 m that can accommodate around 1,000 worshippers, the building includes a café and two apartments.

The design by London-based Marks Barfield Architects draws on the motif of a garden of paradise, with the interweaving branches of the trees forming the supporting timber structure. The Blumer Lehmann free-form team advised the architects on the implementation of the challenging structure during the development phase. Our know-how of digital processes and parametric planning came to the fore during the subsequent production. Together with our partners, we developed a modular system from design to production with 2746 components in 145 variants, thus overcoming the complex challenges of production, logistics and assembly. Precise labelling of the various components ensured efficient and clear organisation. Thanks to the exact timing, each component reached the construction site in England at the correct time, allowing seamless assembly by our team.

Project details

Client:
Cambridge Mosque Trust
Architecture:
Marks Barfield Architects
Project type:
Art and culture
Construction type:
Free Form
Services:
Timber construction
Construction:
2018
Locality:
Cambridge, UK
The interior is dominated by the tree-like wooden supporting structure. The skylights in the ceiling light up the vast space. The doors and individual details on the walls are designed in an oriental wooden structure.

Prayer hall with free-form supporting structure

Gallery

Photograph taken beneath the dome of the Cambridge Mosque from the inside. The tree-like wooden supporting structures can be seen around the dome.

30 skylights bathe the mosque in light

The tree-like supporting structure can even be seen from outside the Cambridge Mosque. The forecourt provides green space while the walls are designed with striking patterns.

Entrance to the mosque

Overall view of the Cambridge Mosque taken from the access road. The tree-like wooden supporting structure in the entrance area and golden dome in the background are already visible.

External view of Cambridge Mosque

External photograph of the Cambridge Mosque. The image also shows a number of men in conversation around the oriental fountain with seating.

View of the mosque’s atrium

The photograph shows the washing area of the Cambridge Mosque. The stools are made of stone and clad with wooden panels. The taps are fixed to a blue slab wall.

Place for the faithful to perform cleaning rituals

Detailed view of the oriental patterned wall of the Cambridge Mosque

Eastern ornamentation

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Holzbau für die Sinne

Mit ihrer Fassade aus hellen und dunkeln Klinkersteinen passt sich die Moschee im englischen Cambridge optisch den typischen Häuserzeilen der Umgebung an. Dass es sich beim Bau um einen Holzbau handelt, wird spätestens im Eingangsbereich sichtbar. Bereits dort sind die ersten der dreissig Holzsäulen sichtbar, die wie Bäume in die Höhe streben und sich in der gitterartigen Deckenstruktur zu einem riesigen Flechtwerk verbinden. Neben dem 8,50 Meter hohen Gebetsraum für rund 1’000 Gläubige schliesst der Bau auch ein Café sowie zwei Wohnungen mit ein.

Der Entwurf des Londoner Büros Marks Barfield Architects greift das Motiv eines paradiesischen Gartens auf, wobei die ineinander verflochtenen Äste der Bäume die tragende Struktur aus Holz bilden. Bereits in der Entwicklungsphase beriet das Blumer-Lehmann Free Form-Team die Architekten zur Umsetzung des anspruchsvollen Baus. Für die spätere Produktion der Bauteile kam unser Know-how für digitale Prozesse beziehungsweise für die parametrische Planung zum Zug. Wir entwickelten zusammen mit unseren Partnern von Design-to-production eine Art Baukastensystem mit 2746 Bauteilen in 145 Varianten und lösten auf diese Weise die komplexen Herausforderungen von Fertigung, Logistik und Montage. Dabei sorgte die präzise Beschriftung der verschiedenen Bauteile für eine effiziente und übersichtliche Organisation. Denn dank des exakten Timings traf schliesslich jedes Bauelement zum richtigen Zeitpunkt auf der Baustelle in England ein und die Montage durch unser Team funktionierte einwandfrei.

Projektdaten

Bauherrschaft:
Cambridge Mosque Trust
Architektur:
Marks Barfield Architects
Projektart:
Kunst und Kultur
Bauweise:
Free Form
Leistungen:
Holzbau
Ausführung:
2018
Ort:
Cambridge, UK
Der Innenbereich wird durch die baumartige holzige Tragstruktur dominiert. Die Fensterlücken in der Decke lassen den riesigen Raum erhellen. Die Türen sowie einzelne Details in den Wänden wurden mit einer orientalischen Holzstruktur konstruiert.

Gebetshalle mit Free Form Tragwerk

Galerie

Aufnahme unter der Kuppel der Cambridge Mosque von innen. Umliegend sind die baumartigen und holzigen Tragstrukturen zu sehen.

30 Oblichter bringen viel Licht in die Moschee

Die baumartige holzige Tragstruktur fallt schon aussen vor der Cambridge Mosque auf. Der Vorplatz ist ausserdem begrünt und die Wände mit auffälligen Mustern konstruiert.

Eingangsbereich Moschee

Gesamtansicht der Cambridge Mosque aus Sicht der Zufahrtsstrasse. Die baumartige holzige Tragstruktur im Eingangsbereich sowie die Goldkuppel i Hintergrund sind hier schon zu erkennen.

Aussenansicht Cambridge Mosque

Aufnahme des Aussenbereichs vor der Cambridge Mosque. Zu sehen sind ausserdem einige Männer rundum den orientalischen Brunnen mit Sitzgelegenheiten inmitten von Konversationen.

Blick auf den Innenhof der Moschee

Die Aufnahme zeigt den Waschbereich der Cambridge Mosque. Die Sitzhocker sind aus Stein und mit Holzpaletten überzogen. Die Wasserhähne sind an einer blauen Plattenwand befestigt.

Platz für das Reinigungsritual der Gläubigen

Detailaufnahme der orientalisch gemusterten Wand der Cambridge Mosque

Orientalische Ornamente

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.