Forest

We work with the world’s most natural resource

1

The forest is the basis of life

Trees are living organisms that heavily influence our living conditions. They purify and store 40% of the drinking water in Switzerland. There are over 500 million trees in Switzerland, which absorb 1.6 million CO2 per year and provide a habitat for 20,000 flora and fauna. 90% of the Swiss population cherish the forests and enjoy spending time in them. The Federal Office for the Environment estimates the corresponding recuperative effect at around CHF 28.6 billion.

2

Our blue planet is also beautifully green!

A total of 4 billion hectares of forest grow on the Earth, equal to approximately one third of the world’s surface. Around 30% of Switzerland is covered in forests and some 130 species of trees and shrubs are native to the country. Spruce is by far the most common tree species – more than a third of trees belong to this pine family. This is followed by beeches and firs.

3

Did you know that trees can tweet?

Researchers at a Belgian university attached sensors to trees that measure the smallest changes. The data showed, for example, how trees react to heat and drought. Scientists have now found a way to formulate a suitable short message from this data. If it is too dry, then the tree tweets something like “Help, I’m thirsty!” In this way, it is possible to collect important information about the forest.

4

Enough with the shortage-of-timber fairy tales

We have wood in abundance and it can replace crude oil in many areas. 10 million cubic metres of wood grow in the Swiss forests every year but only 6.5 million cubic metres are harvested. Wood is the number one raw material. Worldwide, too.

  • The forest is the basis of life

    Trees are living organisms that heavily influence our living conditions. They purify and store 40% of the drinking water in Switzerland. There are over 500 million trees in Switzerland, which absorb 1.6 million CO2 per year and provide a habitat for 20,000 flora and fauna. 90% of the Swiss population cherish the forests and enjoy spending time in them. The Federal Office for the Environment estimates the corresponding recuperative effect at around CHF 28.6 billion.

  • Our blue planet is also beautifully green!

    A total of 4 billion hectares of forest grow on the Earth, equal to approximately one third of the world’s surface. Around 30% of Switzerland is covered in forests and some 130 species of trees and shrubs are native to the country. Spruce is by far the most common tree species – more than a third of trees belong to this pine family. This is followed by beeches and firs.

  • Did you know that trees can tweet?

    Researchers at a Belgian university attached sensors to trees that measure the smallest changes. The data showed, for example, how trees react to heat and drought. Scientists have now found a way to formulate a suitable short message from this data. If it is too dry, then the tree tweets something like “Help, I’m thirsty!” In this way, it is possible to collect important information about the forest.

  • Enough with the shortage-of-timber fairy tales

    We have wood in abundance and it can replace crude oil in many areas. 10 million cubic metres of wood grow in the Swiss forests every year but only 6.5 million cubic metres are harvested. Wood is the number one raw material. Worldwide, too.

Wood

We work with the oldest material of the future

1

Wood is high-tech

Its special microstructure means that wood has an extremely high load-bearing capacity despite its low net weight. Based on this net weight, wood can support 14 times as much as steel – and with far less manufacturing effort.

2

Are you stressed? Build a house made of wood!

A study at a school has shown that wood panelling in classrooms substantially reduces stress levels for pupils and lowers their heart rate. What’s more, the social stress felt by teachers due to children and young people declined heavily. Reason enough to always want wood around you in your day-to-day life.

3

Why is wood better in the event of fire? Ask the fire brigade!

If a fire breaks out, wood’s behaviour is predictable and manageable compared to other construction materials. Wood burns slowly and delays the fire from spreading inwards. The layer of carbon acts like a kind of protective jacket. Underneath this, the wood remains unscathed, keeping its load capacity for an exceptionally long time.

4

Why ice cream sticks are made of wood

Wood is a poor conductor of heat and therefore never gets uncomfortably hot or cold. That’s why ice cream on a wooden stick doesn’t slide off for a very long time. This also means that wood offers excellent protection in both cold winters and hot summers. Additionally, wood improves the indoor climate and has a positive effect on residents’ well-being.

  • Wood is high-tech

    Its special microstructure means that wood has an extremely high load-bearing capacity despite its low net weight. Based on this net weight, wood can support 14 times as much as steel – and with far less manufacturing effort.

  • Are you stressed? Build a house made of wood!

    A study at a school has shown that wood panelling in classrooms substantially reduces stress levels for pupils and lowers their heart rate. What’s more, the social stress felt by teachers due to children and young people declined heavily. Reason enough to always want wood around you in your day-to-day life.

  • Why is wood better in the event of fire? Ask the fire brigade!

    If a fire breaks out, wood’s behaviour is predictable and manageable compared to other construction materials. Wood burns slowly and delays the fire from spreading inwards. The layer of carbon acts like a kind of protective jacket. Underneath this, the wood remains unscathed, keeping its load capacity for an exceptionally long time.

  • Why ice cream sticks are made of wood

    Wood is a poor conductor of heat and therefore never gets uncomfortably hot or cold. That’s why ice cream on a wooden stick doesn’t slide off for a very long time. This also means that wood offers excellent protection in both cold winters and hot summers. Additionally, wood improves the indoor climate and has a positive effect on residents’ well-being.

Work

We use the natural resource ecologically and sustainably

1

Where does the wood come from?

Certified Swiss wood companies from the timber industry pledge to process at least 80% of the timber from Switzerland. In doing so, they make an important contribution to the reduction in CO2 and support the local value chain.

2

Turning round into angular

The members of the timber industry mainly process coniferous wood from spruce and fir. Deciduous wood only makes up 5% of production. About 60% of sawn timber comes from round and conical trunks. 40% of the residual timber is produced as a by-product in the form of sawdust, wood shavings, wood chips, slabs and bark.

3

How much wood is processed?

Sawmills are an important part of the value chain in the wood cycle. They enable sustainable use of our forests. Around 130,000 cubic metres of wood are processed in our sawmill at Erlenhof every year, equal to 25 lorries of timber per day. We are the fourth largest sawmill in Switzerland. In the past 10 years, the number of Swiss sawmills has fallen from around 600 to 220.

4

Where does the wood go?

50% to 60% of sawn timber production, currently 1.1 million cubic metres, is supplied to the construction sector. This is followed by producers of pallets and boxes, interior construction companies, window manufacturers, building centres and export firms. Residual timber is used for the manufacture of paper and wood-based composites (e.g. chip boards). Residual timber is also becoming increasingly important for energy production. Just like us, many other sawmills are already producing thermal energy for their own drying chambers and for district heating grids.

  • Where does the wood come from?

    Certified Swiss wood companies from the timber industry pledge to process at least 80% of the timber from Switzerland. In doing so, they make an important contribution to the reduction in CO2 and support the local value chain.

  • Turning round into angular

    The members of the timber industry mainly process coniferous wood from spruce and fir. Deciduous wood only makes up 5% of production. About 60% of sawn timber comes from round and conical trunks. 40% of the residual timber is produced as a by-product in the form of sawdust, wood shavings, wood chips, slabs and bark.

  • How much wood is processed?

    Sawmills are an important part of the value chain in the wood cycle. They enable sustainable use of our forests. Around 130,000 cubic metres of wood are processed in our sawmill at Erlenhof every year, equal to 25 lorries of timber per day. We are the fourth largest sawmill in Switzerland. In the past 10 years, the number of Swiss sawmills has fallen from around 600 to 220.

  • Where does the wood go?

    50% to 60% of sawn timber production, currently 1.1 million cubic metres, is supplied to the construction sector. This is followed by producers of pallets and boxes, interior construction companies, window manufacturers, building centres and export firms. Residual timber is used for the manufacture of paper and wood-based composites (e.g. chip boards). Residual timber is also becoming increasingly important for energy production. Just like us, many other sawmills are already producing thermal energy for their own drying chambers and for district heating grids.

Conceive

We live and breathe the most fascinating construction material

1

Creating the seemingly impossible

From high-rise buildings to modular construction, multi-storey residential buildings, bridges, free-formed supporting structures and even works of art, wood makes an enormous range of applications possible and inspires designers and architects to reach soaring heights of creativity, time and time again. We are convinced: with wood almost everything is possible.

2

Everything remains different

To complete complex and extraordinary timber constructions, specialised experts need to work together closely and intensely. Many of our projects are prototypes, making them unique. This frequently requires different perspectives, an open mindset and a completely new approach.

3

Visions made of wood

Our visionary approach to wood, a well-proven material and perhaps the oldest, provides solutions for the future. New technologies and chemical processes continue to open up further sustainable applications for wood in a wide range of areas such as thermal insulation, packaging, fuels and many more. And amended fire protection regulations allow totally new dimensions in timber construction for residential, educational and office buildings.

4

Developing the project together

Today’s modern timber construction works with the digital platform Building Information Modelling (BIM), with which all project partners work together on a single digital model and develop it further. On the one hand, this requires expertise and an in-depth exchange of ideas and information. On the other, everyone benefits from increased process reliability and schedule and cost stability. Welcome to the future of construction.

  • Creating the seemingly impossible

    From high-rise buildings to modular construction, multi-storey residential buildings, bridges, free-formed supporting structures and even works of art, wood makes an enormous range of applications possible and inspires designers and architects to reach soaring heights of creativity, time and time again. We are convinced: with wood almost everything is possible.

  • Everything remains different

    To complete complex and extraordinary timber constructions, specialised experts need to work together closely and intensely. Many of our projects are prototypes, making them unique. This frequently requires different perspectives, an open mindset and a completely new approach.

  • Visions made of wood

    Our visionary approach to wood, a well-proven material and perhaps the oldest, provides solutions for the future. New technologies and chemical processes continue to open up further sustainable applications for wood in a wide range of areas such as thermal insulation, packaging, fuels and many more. And amended fire protection regulations allow totally new dimensions in timber construction for residential, educational and office buildings.

  • Developing the project together

    Today’s modern timber construction works with the digital platform Building Information Modelling (BIM), with which all project partners work together on a single digital model and develop it further. On the one hand, this requires expertise and an in-depth exchange of ideas and information. On the other, everyone benefits from increased process reliability and schedule and cost stability. Welcome to the future of construction.

Fabricate

Challenges move us forward

1

Create complex forms!

The timber industry has been developing high-tech components in impressive dimensions in recent years. In combination with computer-aided calculation and production methods, forms can be manufactured that are not possible with any other material. Star architects like Shigeru Ban and Sir Norman Foster have discovered wood’s potential for themselves and are designing the most complex buildings with wood.

2

Breaking records!

Silo facilities are being designed and built that are ever bigger, more networked and efficient. The material with the ideal properties for the storage of salt and other bulk solids remains the same: wood. In Bern, Europe’s largest silo facility for winter services was completed. This is only possible by combining traditional craftsmanship and cutting-edge technology.

3

Humans as the crucial factor!

By using CAD/CAM software, powerful, intelligent production engineering and smart processing strategies, the most complex components and component sets can be manufactured from wood. And with the most important element in the production chain: humans. For example, a type of modular system was created for the Cambridge Mosque in England. Thanks to parametric planning as the central interface to production, the 2,746 individual components could be manufactured in 145 variants for the 30 stylised trees.

4

Ultimate precision and even faster

Prefabrication in the production hall means time saved on the building site. But there’s more: the production of standardised components drives down costs. The elements and modules are manufactured with the utmost precision and inspected throughout the entire manufacturing process. This means consistently high quality from the first component to the last.

  • Create complex forms!

    The timber industry has been developing high-tech components in impressive dimensions in recent years. In combination with computer-aided calculation and production methods, forms can be manufactured that are not possible with any other material. Star architects like Shigeru Ban and Sir Norman Foster have discovered wood’s potential for themselves and are designing the most complex buildings with wood.

  • Breaking records!

    Silo facilities are being designed and built that are ever bigger, more networked and efficient. The material with the ideal properties for the storage of salt and other bulk solids remains the same: wood. In Bern, Europe’s largest silo facility for winter services was completed. This is only possible by combining traditional craftsmanship and cutting-edge technology.

  • Humans as the crucial factor!

    By using CAD/CAM software, powerful, intelligent production engineering and smart processing strategies, the most complex components and component sets can be manufactured from wood. And with the most important element in the production chain: humans. For example, a type of modular system was created for the Cambridge Mosque in England. Thanks to parametric planning as the central interface to production, the 2,746 individual components could be manufactured in 145 variants for the 30 stylised trees.

  • Ultimate precision and even faster

    Prefabrication in the production hall means time saved on the building site. But there’s more: the production of standardised components drives down costs. The elements and modules are manufactured with the utmost precision and inspected throughout the entire manufacturing process. This means consistently high quality from the first component to the last.

Experience

Wooden buildings fascinate and inspire

1

«The 19th century was the century of steel, the 20th century was the century of concrete and the 21st century will be the century of timber.»

– Michael Green, architect, Canada

2

«I don’t think that architecture is only about shelter. It should be able to excite you, to calm you, to make you think.»

– Zaha Hadid, architect, United Kingdom

3

«Architecture is the masterly, correct and magnificent play of masses brought together in light.»

– Le Corbusier, architect, Switzerland

4

«Architecture is an expression of values.»

– Sir Norman Foster, architect, United Kingdom

5

«The difference between good and bad architecture is the time you spend on it.»

– David Chipperfield, architect, United Kingdom

  • «The 19th century was the century of steel, the 20th century was the century of concrete and the 21st century will be the century of timber.»

    – Michael Green, architect, Canada

  • «I don’t think that architecture is only about shelter. It should be able to excite you, to calm you, to make you think.»

    – Zaha Hadid, architect, United Kingdom

  • «Architecture is the masterly, correct and magnificent play of masses brought together in light.»

    – Le Corbusier, architect, Switzerland

  • «Architecture is an expression of values.»

    – Sir Norman Foster, architect, United Kingdom

  • «The difference between good and bad architecture is the time you spend on it.»

    – David Chipperfield, architect, United Kingdom

Forest

We work with the world’s most natural resource

Wood

We work with the oldest material of the future

Work

We use the natural resource ecologically and sustainably

Conceive

We live and breathe the most fascinating construction material

Fabricate

Challenges move us forward

Experience

Wooden buildings fascinate and inspire

The fascinating world of wood

Immerse yourself

Wald

Wir arbeiten mit der natürlichsten Ressource der Welt.

1

Der Wald ist unsere Lebensgrundlage

Bäume sind lebendige Organismen, die unsere Lebensumstände stark beeinflussen. Sie reinigen und speichern 40 % des Schweizer Trinkwassers. Die über 500 Millionen Bäume in der Schweiz binden jährlich 1,6 Millionen CO2 und bieten Lebensraum für 20’000 Tiere und Pflanzen. Auch 90 % der Schweizer Bevölkerung schätzen den Lebensraum Wald und halten sich gerne darin auf. Das Bundesamt für Umwelt beziffert den entsprechenden Erholungseffekt auf rund 28,6 Milliarden Franken.

2

Unser blauer Planet ist auch ganz schön grün!

Auf der Erde wachsen insgesamt 4 Milliarden Hektar Wald. Das entspricht etwa einem Drittel der Fläche der Welt. In der Schweiz sind rund 30 % der Landesfläche mit Wald bedeckt und rund 130 Baum- und Straucharten sind hierzulande heimisch. Die mit Abstand häufigste Baumart ist dabei die Fichte – mehr als jeder dritte Baum zählt zu dieser Familie der Kieferngewächse. Dahinter folgen die Buche und die Tanne.

3

Wussten Sie, dass Bäume twittern können?

Forscher einer belgischen Universität haben an Bäumen Sensoren befestigt, die kleinste Änderungen messen. Die Daten zeigen beispielsweise, wie Bäume auf Hitze und Trockenheit reagieren. Die Wissenschaftler haben nun eine Möglichkeit gefunden, aus diesen Daten eine passende Kurznachricht zu formulieren. Ist es zu trocken, dann twittert der Baum zum Beispiel: „Hilfe, ich habe Durst!“ Auf diese Weise können wichtige Informationen zum Wald gesammelt werden.

4

Schluss mit dem Märchen der Holzknappheit

Wir haben Holz im Überfluss und es kann in vielen Bereichen Erdöl ersetzen. 10 Millionen Kubikmeter Holz wachsen pro Jahr in den Schweizer Wäldern, doch nur 6,5 Millionen Kubikmeter werden geerntet. Holz ist der Rohstoff Nummer 1. Auch weltweit.

  • Der Wald ist unsere Lebensgrundlage

    Bäume sind lebendige Organismen, die unsere Lebensumstände stark beeinflussen. Sie reinigen und speichern 40 % des Schweizer Trinkwassers. Die über 500 Millionen Bäume in der Schweiz binden jährlich 1,6 Millionen CO2 und bieten Lebensraum für 20’000 Tiere und Pflanzen. Auch 90 % der Schweizer Bevölkerung schätzen den Lebensraum Wald und halten sich gerne darin auf. Das Bundesamt für Umwelt beziffert den entsprechenden Erholungseffekt auf rund 28,6 Milliarden Franken.

  • Unser blauer Planet ist auch ganz schön grün!

    Auf der Erde wachsen insgesamt 4 Milliarden Hektar Wald. Das entspricht etwa einem Drittel der Fläche der Welt. In der Schweiz sind rund 30 % der Landesfläche mit Wald bedeckt und rund 130 Baum- und Straucharten sind hierzulande heimisch. Die mit Abstand häufigste Baumart ist dabei die Fichte – mehr als jeder dritte Baum zählt zu dieser Familie der Kieferngewächse. Dahinter folgen die Buche und die Tanne.

  • Wussten Sie, dass Bäume twittern können?

    Forscher einer belgischen Universität haben an Bäumen Sensoren befestigt, die kleinste Änderungen messen. Die Daten zeigen beispielsweise, wie Bäume auf Hitze und Trockenheit reagieren. Die Wissenschaftler haben nun eine Möglichkeit gefunden, aus diesen Daten eine passende Kurznachricht zu formulieren. Ist es zu trocken, dann twittert der Baum zum Beispiel: „Hilfe, ich habe Durst!“ Auf diese Weise können wichtige Informationen zum Wald gesammelt werden.

  • Schluss mit dem Märchen der Holzknappheit

    Wir haben Holz im Überfluss und es kann in vielen Bereichen Erdöl ersetzen. 10 Millionen Kubikmeter Holz wachsen pro Jahr in den Schweizer Wäldern, doch nur 6,5 Millionen Kubikmeter werden geerntet. Holz ist der Rohstoff Nummer 1. Auch weltweit.

Holz

Wir arbeiten mit dem traditionellsten Werkstoff der Zukunft

1

Holz ist hightech

Durch seine spezielle Mikrostruktur gewährleistet Holz trotz geringem Eigengewicht eine sehr hohe Belastbarkeit. Bezogen auf sein Eigengewicht trägt Holz 14 Mal so viel wie Stahl. Und das mit weit geringerem Herstellungsaufwand.

2

Haben Sie Stress? Bauen Sie sich ein Haus aus Holz!

Eine Studie an einer Schule hat aufgezeigt, dass die Holzverkleidung in Klassenzimmern den Stress der Schüler und Schülerinnen deutlich reduziert und ihre Herzfrequenz senkt. Zudem ist die von Lehrpersonen empfundene soziale Beanspruchung durch die Kinder und Jugendlichen markant gesunken. Grund genug, um Holz im täglichen Leben immer um sich haben zu wollen.

3

Warum Holz bei einem Brand einfach besser ist? Fragen Sie die Feuerwehr!

Wenn es zu einem Brand kommt, verhält sich Holz im Gegensatz zu anderen Baustoffen berechenbar und kontrollierbar. Holz brennt langsam ab und verzögert die Ausbreitung des Feuers nach innen. Die Kohleschicht wirkt wie eine Art Schutzmantel. Darunter bleibt das Holz unbeschädigt und seine Tragfähigkeit ausserordentlich lange erhalten.

4

Warum Glacé-Stängel aus Holz sind

Holz hat eine schlechte Wärmeleitfähigkeit und wird deshalb nie unangenehm kalt oder heiss. Darum bleibt das Glacé mit dem Holzstängel auch sehr lange an seinem Platz. Und deshalb bietet Holz sowohl einen ausgezeichneten Schutz bei Kälte im Winter als auch bei Wärme im Sommer. Holz verbessert ausserdem das Raumklima und wirkt sich positiv auf das Wohlbefinden der Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner aus.

  • Holz ist hightech

    Durch seine spezielle Mikrostruktur gewährleistet Holz trotz geringem Eigengewicht eine sehr hohe Belastbarkeit. Bezogen auf sein Eigengewicht trägt Holz 14 Mal so viel wie Stahl. Und das mit weit geringerem Herstellungsaufwand.

  • Haben Sie Stress? Bauen Sie sich ein Haus aus Holz!

    Eine Studie an einer Schule hat aufgezeigt, dass die Holzverkleidung in Klassenzimmern den Stress der Schüler und Schülerinnen deutlich reduziert und ihre Herzfrequenz senkt. Zudem ist die von Lehrpersonen empfundene soziale Beanspruchung durch die Kinder und Jugendlichen markant gesunken. Grund genug, um Holz im täglichen Leben immer um sich haben zu wollen.

  • Warum Holz bei einem Brand einfach besser ist? Fragen Sie die Feuerwehr!

    Wenn es zu einem Brand kommt, verhält sich Holz im Gegensatz zu anderen Baustoffen berechenbar und kontrollierbar. Holz brennt langsam ab und verzögert die Ausbreitung des Feuers nach innen. Die Kohleschicht wirkt wie eine Art Schutzmantel. Darunter bleibt das Holz unbeschädigt und seine Tragfähigkeit ausserordentlich lange erhalten.

  • Warum Glacé-Stängel aus Holz sind

    Holz hat eine schlechte Wärmeleitfähigkeit und wird deshalb nie unangenehm kalt oder heiss. Darum bleibt das Glacé mit dem Holzstängel auch sehr lange an seinem Platz. Und deshalb bietet Holz sowohl einen ausgezeichneten Schutz bei Kälte im Winter als auch bei Wärme im Sommer. Holz verbessert ausserdem das Raumklima und wirkt sich positiv auf das Wohlbefinden der Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner aus.

Werk

Wir nutzen den natürlichen Rohstoff ökologisch und nachhaltig

1

Woher kommt das Holz?

Schweizer Holz zertifizierte Betriebe aus der Holzindustrie verpflichten sich, mindestens 80 % des Rundholzes aus der Schweiz zu verarbeiten. Damit leisten sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur CO2-Reduktion und fördern die lokale Wertschöpfungskette.

2

Aus rund wird eckig

Die Mitglieder der Holzindustrie Schweiz verarbeiten überwiegend Nadelholz von Fichte und Tanne. Laubholz macht nur 5 % der Produktion aus. Aus den runden und konischen Stämmen entstehen circa 60 % Schnittholz. 40 % Restholz fallen als Nebenprodukte an: Säge- und Hobelspäne, Hackschnitzel, Schwarten und Rinde.

3

Wie viel Holz verarbeiten wir?

Die Sägewerke sind ein wichtiger Teil der Wertschöpfungskette im Holzkreislauf. Sie ermöglichen eine nachhaltige Nutzung unseres Waldes. In unserem Sägewerk auf dem Erlenhof werden pro Jahr circa 130'000 Kubikmeter Holz verarbeitet. Das entspricht 25 Lastwagen Rundholz pro Tag. Wir sind das viertgrösste Sägewerk der Schweiz. In den vergangenen 10 Jahren hat sich die Anzahl der Schweizer Sägewerke von etwa 600 auf 220 reduziert.

4

Wohin geht das Holz?

Die Schnittholzproduktion von derzeit 1,1 Millionen Kubikmeter wird zu 50 bis 60 % in den Baubereich geliefert. Als weitere Abnehmer folgen Produzenten von Paletten und Kisten, Innenausbau- und Fensterbauunternehmen sowie Baumärkte und Exportfirmen. Restholz wird für die Herstellung von Papier und Holzwerkstoffen (z. B. Spanplatten) verwendet. Immer wichtiger wird Restholz auch für die Energieerzeugung. Genau wie wir produzieren auch viele andere Sägewerke bereits Wärme für ihre eigenen Trockenkammern und für Fernwärmenetze.

  • Woher kommt das Holz?

    Schweizer Holz zertifizierte Betriebe aus der Holzindustrie verpflichten sich, mindestens 80 % des Rundholzes aus der Schweiz zu verarbeiten. Damit leisten sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur CO2-Reduktion und fördern die lokale Wertschöpfungskette.

  • Aus rund wird eckig

    Die Mitglieder der Holzindustrie Schweiz verarbeiten überwiegend Nadelholz von Fichte und Tanne. Laubholz macht nur 5 % der Produktion aus. Aus den runden und konischen Stämmen entstehen circa 60 % Schnittholz. 40 % Restholz fallen als Nebenprodukte an: Säge- und Hobelspäne, Hackschnitzel, Schwarten und Rinde.

  • Wie viel Holz verarbeiten wir?

    Die Sägewerke sind ein wichtiger Teil der Wertschöpfungskette im Holzkreislauf. Sie ermöglichen eine nachhaltige Nutzung unseres Waldes. In unserem Sägewerk auf dem Erlenhof werden pro Jahr circa 130'000 Kubikmeter Holz verarbeitet. Das entspricht 25 Lastwagen Rundholz pro Tag. Wir sind das viertgrösste Sägewerk der Schweiz. In den vergangenen 10 Jahren hat sich die Anzahl der Schweizer Sägewerke von etwa 600 auf 220 reduziert.

  • Wohin geht das Holz?

    Die Schnittholzproduktion von derzeit 1,1 Millionen Kubikmeter wird zu 50 bis 60 % in den Baubereich geliefert. Als weitere Abnehmer folgen Produzenten von Paletten und Kisten, Innenausbau- und Fensterbauunternehmen sowie Baumärkte und Exportfirmen. Restholz wird für die Herstellung von Papier und Holzwerkstoffen (z. B. Spanplatten) verwendet. Immer wichtiger wird Restholz auch für die Energieerzeugung. Genau wie wir produzieren auch viele andere Sägewerke bereits Wärme für ihre eigenen Trockenkammern und für Fernwärmenetze.

Erdenken

Wir leben den faszinierendsten Baustoff

1

Das scheinbar Unmögliche schaffen

Vom Hochhausbau über den Modulbau, mehrgeschossige Wohnbauten, Brücken, freigeformte Tragwerke und sogar Kunstobjekte ermöglicht Holz eine gewaltige Anwendungsvielfalt und inspiriert Designer und Architekten immer wieder zu kreativen Höhenflügen. Wir sind überzeugt: Mit Holz ist fast alles möglich.

2

Es bleibt alles anders

Um komplexe und aussergewöhnliche Holzbauten zu realisieren, braucht es eine enge und intensive Zusammenarbeit von spezialisierten Fachleuten. Viele unserer Projekte sind Prototypen und dementsprechend einzigartig. Das erfordert immer wieder andere Perspektiven, eine offene Denkweise und eine komplett neue Herangehensweise.

3

Visionen aus Holz

Der visionäre Umgang mit dem wohl ältesten und sehr bewährten Werkstoff Holz liefert Lösungen für die Zukunft. Neue Technologien und chemische Prozesse eröffnen laufend weitere, nachhaltige Einsatzmöglichkeiten für Holz in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen: Dämmungen, Verpackungen, Treibstoffe und vieles mehr. Und im Holzbau erlauben geänderte Brandschutzvorschriften ganz neue Dimensionen für Wohn-, Schul- und Bürogebäude.

4

Gemeinsam das Projekt entwickeln

Der heutige moderne Holzbau arbeitet mit der digitalen Plattform BIM, dem Building Information Modeling. Hier arbeiten alle Projektpartner an einem einzigen digitalen Modell zusammen und entwickeln es weiter. Dazu benötigen sie einerseits Know-how und den intensiven Austausch untereinander. Auf der anderen Seite profitieren alle von mehr Prozess-, Termin- und Kostensicherheit. Willkommen in der Zukunft des Bauens.

  • Das scheinbar Unmögliche schaffen

    Vom Hochhausbau über den Modulbau, mehrgeschossige Wohnbauten, Brücken, freigeformte Tragwerke und sogar Kunstobjekte ermöglicht Holz eine gewaltige Anwendungsvielfalt und inspiriert Designer und Architekten immer wieder zu kreativen Höhenflügen. Wir sind überzeugt: Mit Holz ist fast alles möglich.

  • Es bleibt alles anders

    Um komplexe und aussergewöhnliche Holzbauten zu realisieren, braucht es eine enge und intensive Zusammenarbeit von spezialisierten Fachleuten. Viele unserer Projekte sind Prototypen und dementsprechend einzigartig. Das erfordert immer wieder andere Perspektiven, eine offene Denkweise und eine komplett neue Herangehensweise.

  • Visionen aus Holz

    Der visionäre Umgang mit dem wohl ältesten und sehr bewährten Werkstoff Holz liefert Lösungen für die Zukunft. Neue Technologien und chemische Prozesse eröffnen laufend weitere, nachhaltige Einsatzmöglichkeiten für Holz in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen: Dämmungen, Verpackungen, Treibstoffe und vieles mehr. Und im Holzbau erlauben geänderte Brandschutzvorschriften ganz neue Dimensionen für Wohn-, Schul- und Bürogebäude.

  • Gemeinsam das Projekt entwickeln

    Der heutige moderne Holzbau arbeitet mit der digitalen Plattform BIM, dem Building Information Modeling. Hier arbeiten alle Projektpartner an einem einzigen digitalen Modell zusammen und entwickeln es weiter. Dazu benötigen sie einerseits Know-how und den intensiven Austausch untereinander. Auf der anderen Seite profitieren alle von mehr Prozess-, Termin- und Kostensicherheit. Willkommen in der Zukunft des Bauens.

Erschaffen

Herausforderungen bringen uns weiter

1

Komplexe Formen entstehen lassen!

Die Holzwirtschaft entwickelte in den letzten Jahren Hightech-Komponenten in beeindruckenden Dimensionen. In Kombination mit computergestützten Berechnungs- und Fertigungsmethoden können Formen hergestellt werden, die mit keinem anderen Baustoff möglich sind. Stararchitekten wie Shigeru Ban oder Sir Norman Foster haben das Potenzial von Holz für sich entdeckt und gestalten die komplexesten Bauten in Holz.

2

Rekorde werden gebrochen!

Immer grössere, vernetztere und leistungsfähigere Siloanlagen werden geplant und gebaut. Nach wie vor gleich bleibt der Werkstoff mit den idealen Eigenschaften für die Lagerung von Salz und weiteren Schüttgütern: Holz. In der Stadt Bern wurde die grösste Siloanlage Europas für den Winterdienst realisiert. Dies ist nur möglich durch die Verbindung von traditioneller Handwerkskunst und modernster Technologie.

3

Der Mensch als entscheidender Faktor!

Mit dem Einsatz von CAD/CAM-Software, leistungsfähiger intelligenter Fabrikationstechnik und smarten Bearbeitungsstrategien lassen sich komplexeste Bauteile und Bauteilsätze aus Holz fertigen. Und: mit dem Menschen, der die wichtigste Komponente in der Produktionskette darstellt. So entstand beispielsweise eine Art Baukastensystem für die Cambridge Mosque in England. Dank parametrischer Planung als zentraler Schnittstelle zur Produktion liessen sich die 2'746 einzelnen Bauteilen in 145 Varianten für die 30 stilisierten Bäume fertigen.

4

Höchste Präzision und erst noch schneller

Vorfertigung in der Produktionshalle bedeutet Zeitgewinn auf der Baustelle. Doch nicht nur das: Die Produktion von standardisierten Bauteilen spart Kosten. Zudem werden die Elemente und Module mit höchster Präzision gefertigt und während des gesamten Fertigungsprozesse überprüft. Das bedeutet gleichbleibend hohe Qualität vom ersten bis zum letzten Bauteil.

  • Komplexe Formen entstehen lassen!

    Die Holzwirtschaft entwickelte in den letzten Jahren Hightech-Komponenten in beeindruckenden Dimensionen. In Kombination mit computergestützten Berechnungs- und Fertigungsmethoden können Formen hergestellt werden, die mit keinem anderen Baustoff möglich sind. Stararchitekten wie Shigeru Ban oder Sir Norman Foster haben das Potenzial von Holz für sich entdeckt und gestalten die komplexesten Bauten in Holz.

  • Rekorde werden gebrochen!

    Immer grössere, vernetztere und leistungsfähigere Siloanlagen werden geplant und gebaut. Nach wie vor gleich bleibt der Werkstoff mit den idealen Eigenschaften für die Lagerung von Salz und weiteren Schüttgütern: Holz. In der Stadt Bern wurde die grösste Siloanlage Europas für den Winterdienst realisiert. Dies ist nur möglich durch die Verbindung von traditioneller Handwerkskunst und modernster Technologie.

  • Der Mensch als entscheidender Faktor!

    Mit dem Einsatz von CAD/CAM-Software, leistungsfähiger intelligenter Fabrikationstechnik und smarten Bearbeitungsstrategien lassen sich komplexeste Bauteile und Bauteilsätze aus Holz fertigen. Und: mit dem Menschen, der die wichtigste Komponente in der Produktionskette darstellt. So entstand beispielsweise eine Art Baukastensystem für die Cambridge Mosque in England. Dank parametrischer Planung als zentraler Schnittstelle zur Produktion liessen sich die 2'746 einzelnen Bauteilen in 145 Varianten für die 30 stilisierten Bäume fertigen.

  • Höchste Präzision und erst noch schneller

    Vorfertigung in der Produktionshalle bedeutet Zeitgewinn auf der Baustelle. Doch nicht nur das: Die Produktion von standardisierten Bauteilen spart Kosten. Zudem werden die Elemente und Module mit höchster Präzision gefertigt und während des gesamten Fertigungsprozesse überprüft. Das bedeutet gleichbleibend hohe Qualität vom ersten bis zum letzten Bauteil.

Erleben

Bauwerke aus Holz faszinieren und begeistern

1

​​​​​​​«Das 19. Jahrhundert war das Jahrhundert des Stahls, das 20. Jahrhundert das Jahrhundert des Betons, und das 21. Jahrhundert wird das Jahrhundert des Holzes.»

- Michael Green, Architekt, Kanada

2

​​​​​​​«Ich denke nicht, dass es bei Architektur nur um Schutz geht. Architektur sollte in der Lage sein, zu begeistern, zu beruhigen, zum Nachdenken zu bringen.»

- Zaha Hadid, Architektin, Vereinigtes Königreich

3

​​​​​​​«Architektur ist das kunstvolle, korrekte und grossartige Spiel der unter dem Licht versammelten Baukörper.»

- Le Corbusier, Architekt, Schweiz

4

​​​​​​​«Architektur ist ein Ausdruck der Werte»

- Sir Norman Foster, Architekt, Vereinigtes Königreich

5

​​​​​​​«Der Unterschied zwischen guter und schlechter Architektur ist die Zeit, die man dafür aufwendet»

- David Chipperfield, Architekt, Vereinigtes Königreich

  • ​​​​​​​«Das 19. Jahrhundert war das Jahrhundert des Stahls, das 20. Jahrhundert das Jahrhundert des Betons, und das 21. Jahrhundert wird das Jahrhundert des Holzes.»

    - Michael Green, Architekt, Kanada

  • ​​​​​​​«Ich denke nicht, dass es bei Architektur nur um Schutz geht. Architektur sollte in der Lage sein, zu begeistern, zu beruhigen, zum Nachdenken zu bringen.»

    - Zaha Hadid, Architektin, Vereinigtes Königreich

  • ​​​​​​​«Architektur ist das kunstvolle, korrekte und grossartige Spiel der unter dem Licht versammelten Baukörper.»

    - Le Corbusier, Architekt, Schweiz

  • ​​​​​​​«Architektur ist ein Ausdruck der Werte»

    - Sir Norman Foster, Architekt, Vereinigtes Königreich

  • ​​​​​​​«Der Unterschied zwischen guter und schlechter Architektur ist die Zeit, die man dafür aufwendet»

    - David Chipperfield, Architekt, Vereinigtes Königreich

Wald

Wir arbeiten mit der natürlichsten Ressource der Welt.

Holz

Wir arbeiten mit dem traditionellsten Werkstoff der Zukunft

Werk

Wir nutzen den natürlichen Rohstoff ökologisch und nachhaltig

Erdenken

Wir leben den faszinierendsten Baustoff

Erschaffen

Herausforderungen bringen uns weiter

Erleben

Bauwerke aus Holz faszinieren und begeistern

Faszination Holz

Tauchen Sie ein.