Tower made from timber engineered to be self-forming 

The Urbach Tower is a unique timber construction. The striking form of the tower is the result of an innovative self-forming process for complex, curved components. This groundbreaking scientific development represents a paradigm shift in timber construction. Existing forming processes are very expensive and energy intensive, and require heavy pressing tools. But with the new self-forming method, the material curves by itself. This is attributable to the natural swelling and shrinking of timber under the influence of moisture.

The components for the 14-metre-high tower are laminated in their flat state. Once the moisture content changes during the usual industrial drying process, they take on the pre-calculated curved form by themselves. This creates new and unexpected architectural potential for the use of the sustainable, renewable and regionally available construction material that is timber.

The Urbach Tower is the world’s first structural application of a load-bearing timber construction in self-forming timber components. The attraction in the municipality of Urbach can be viewed during the 2019 Remstal Garden Show.

The research project was led by the ICD and IKTE institutes at the University of Stuttgart in collaboration with Switzerland’s ETH and Empa. Lehmann Holzwerk AG and Blumer-Lehmann AG were involved as industrial partners. This allowed the entire process chain to be implemented at our Gossau site, from cutting the logs in the sawmill and the drying process for the timber to final processing and preassembly of the structure. 

Project details

Client:
Gemeinde Urbach
Architecture:
ICD und ITKE Universität Stuttgart
Project type:
Art and culture
Construction type:
Free Form
Services:
Timber construction
Construction:
2019
Locality:
Urbach, Germany
View of the Urbach Tower with the village visible in the background

14.2-metre tower in spruce CLT

View of 3 people in the Urbach Tower in the evening sun

A larch facade surrounds the tower

Detailed view of the Urbach Tower showing the self-formed wooden structure from the exterior

The tower is made up of 12 individual components

View of the lower section of the Urbach Tower in the evening sun.

View of stunning scenery

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to offer you the best possible experience of our website. This includes cookies that are necessary for the running of our website in addition to those used for statistical purposes, additional functions or for displaying personalised content. It is up to you to decide which categories you would like to allow. Please note that the settings you choose may mean that some of the functions of this website will no longer be available to you.

Une tour en bois autoformé

La tour d’Urbach est une construction en bois unique en son genre. La forme particulière de la tour est le résultat d’un procédé inédit consistant à autoformer des composants courbes complexes. Cette innovation scientifique révolutionnaire induit un changement de paradigme dans la construction en bois. Les procédés de formage existants sont très compliqués et énergivores et nécessitent de lourds outils de pressage. Avec la nouvelle méthode d’autoformation, en revanche, le matériau se cintre tout seul. Cela est dû au gonflement et au rétrécissement naturels du bois sous l’influence de l’humidité.

Les composants de cette tour de 14 mètres de haut sont laminés à plat. Dès lors que le taux d’humidité change au cours du processus de séchage industriel habituel, ils prennent automatiquement la forme courbe précalculée. Cela ouvre la voie à des possibilités architecturales nouvelles et inattendues pour l’utilisation du bois qui est un matériau de construction durable, renouvelable et disponible au niveau régional.

La tour d’Urbach est la première application architecturale au monde d’une structure portante en bois composée d’éléments en bois autoformés. Elle peut être visitée dans le cadre de l’exposition horticole «Remstal Gartenschau 2019», où elle représente la commune d’Urbach.

Le projet de recherche a été mené par les instituts ICD et IKTE de l’Université de Stuttgart en Allemagne, en collaboration avec l’EPF et l’EMPA en Suisse. Les deux sociétés Lehmann Holzwerk AG et Blumer-Lehmann AG étaient impliquées en tant que partenaires industriels. Cela a permis de mener à bien l’ensemble de la chaîne du processus, de la coupe des grumes dans la scierie au séchage du bois, en passant par la finition et le prémontage de l’édifice sur notre site de Gossau. 

Données du projet

Maître d'ouvrage:
Gemeinde Urbach
Architecture:
ICD und ITKE Universität Stuttgart
Type de projet:
Art et culture
Type de construction:
Free Form
Prestations:
Construction en bois
Réalisation:
2019
Lieu:
Urbach, Allemagne
La prise de vue montre la tour d’Urbach et le village en arrière-plan

Tour de 14,2 mètres de haut en CLT d’épicéa

Galerie

On voit trois personnes au centre de la tour d’Urbach dans le soleil du soir

Une façade en mélèze enveloppe la tour

La vue détaillée de la tour d’Urbach montre de l’extérieur la structure en bois auto-formée.

12 composants individuels forment la tour

On voit la partie inférieure de la tour d’Urbach dans le soleil du soir.

Vue du paysage unique

Nous utilisons des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site et pour permettre votre inscription si nécessaire. Veuillez consulter notre politique de cookies pour plus d’informations.