The cutting-edge module silo facility in Chur can only be described using superlatives and grand figures. The complex is home to five silos with a total capacity of 2,300 m3 of salt and a brine system with 80,000 litres of ready-to-use brine. The facility ensures winter services keep running on almost 80 km of the A3 motorway between Reichenau and Bad Ragaz – including the cantonal roads in the surrounding valleys – as well as the city of Chur.

Project management had to draw up 400 plans for the 17,000 components in the facility. About 40 semi-trailers transported more than 300 tonnes of material to the construction site by the motorway junction at Chur Süd.

«Logistics presented the greatest and most interesting challenge in this project, particularly the precise scheduling of the lorries. We had to meticulously coordinate the unloading of the semi-trailers, crane operation and construction work of the silo facility.»
Project manager Sascha Aerne

A complete facility with all the trimmings

Altogether, the winter services centre in Chur houses four silos, each with a capacity of 500 m3 for the canton of Grisons, and a silo with a volume of 300 m3 for the city of Chur. The facility also has a brine system with two 40 000 litre brine storage tanks, a brine producer and an operating room. This high storage capacity of      2 300 m3 of salt and 80 000 litres of brine is almost enough to last through a cold and snowy winter. The facility also features a kitchen and toilets, which are integrated into the entire facility as a modular construction.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht von oben mit der Stadt Chur und den Bergen im Hintergrund

Facts and figures

Ground area: 505 m2 (18.1 x 27.9 m)   
Height: 17.7 m   
Net weight: Approx. 300 t (without base)   
Parts: 17 000 pcs   
Volume: Silos: 2 300 m3 salt Brine storage tank: 80 000 l brine
Weighing: Measurement by weight using
strain gauges on the
silo substructure
  
Automation: Fully automatic   

A logistical challenge

The trick in this project was to direct the activities and transport so that everyone could continue to work. This meant unloading the semi-trailer and immediately installing the material 40 times. As soon as the last crane hoist had finished, the next lorry had to be ready in position for unloading, because only then was the storage area clear for another lorry load of material. And this was the only time that the construction team did not need the crane for assembly work. ‘Just in time’ were the magic words. If too much material is on the construction site, there’s no room to work. If no material is left, the assembly team has to wait. That’s the logistical challenge.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht Baustelle von oben

Benefits of the shared facility for the canton of Grisons and the city of Chur

  • Use of synergies
  • No unnecessary journeys
  • Site in a prime location
  • No trips to the city centre to fill the vehicles
  • Time savings
  • Higher storage capacity to cover the whole winter
  • Joint salt purchasing at more favourable terms
  • Ultra-modern facility for everyone

A silo with tiered facade

The Chur-based firm Marcel Liesch Architekten AG designed the rhomboid cladding in larch wood for the 17 m high facade, which covers the entire silo facility. The sloped elements with soffits create a unique tiered effect reminiscent of a fir tree.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht Tännlifassade

Sales and consultation

Let us assist you

Find out more
Christian Ryffel, Betriebsleiter der Siloanlage Chur vor einem Schneeräumungsfahrzeug

An interview with Christian Ryffel

Discover more about what the works manager at the Chur silo site has to say about the facility and working with BL Silobau AG in an interview in our news magazine (in German).

Voices from the media

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Superlative und grosse Zahlen sind nötig, um die Modulsiloanlage mit modernster Technik in Chur zu beschreiben. Die fünf Silos mit ihren Kapazitäten von insgesamt 2300 m3 Salz und die Soleanlage mit 80 000 Liter gebrauchsfertiger Sole stellen den Winterdienst auf den knapp 80 Autobahnkilometer der A13 zwischen Reichenau und Bad Ragaz – mitsamt den Kantonsstrassen in den umliegenden Seitentälern – sowie auf dem Stadtgebiet von Chur sicher.

400 Pläne zeichnete die Projektleitung für die 17 000 Bauteile der Anlage. Rund 40 Sattelschlepper transportierten über 300 Tonnen Material auf die Baustelle beim Autobahnanschluss Chur Süd.

«Die grosse und spannende Herausforderung an diesem Projekt war die Logistik, insbesondere das präzise zeitliche Takten der Lkw. Denn das Entladen der Sattelschlepper, die Kranarbeiten und die Aufbauarbeiten der Siloanlage wollten minutiös koordiniert sein.»
Projektleiter, Sascha Aerne

Eine Gesamtanlage mit allem Drumunddran

Insgesamt sind die vier Silos mit je 500 m3 Fassungsvermögen des Kantons Graubünden und der Silo mit 300 m3 Volumen der Stadt Chur in der Winterdienstzentrale in Chur untergebracht. Ausserdem stehen eine Soleanlage mit zwei Solelagertanks à 40 000 l, einem Soleerzeuger und einem Betriebsraum in der Anlage. Diese hohen Lagerkapazitäten von insgesamt 2300 m3 Salz und 80 000 l Sole reichen beinahe einen kalten und verschneiten Winter lang. Einen weiteren Bestandteil bilden die Küche und die Toilette, die als Modulbau in der Gesamtanlage integriert sind.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht von oben mit der Stadt Chur und den Bergen im Hintergrund

Zahlen und Fakten

Grundfläche: 505 m2 (18.1 x 27.9 m)   
Höhe: 17.7 m   
Eigengewicht: ca. 300 t (ohne Fundament)   
Bauteile: 17 000 Stk.   
Fassungsvermögen: Silos: 2300 m3 Salz   Soletanklager: 80 000 l Sole
Verwiegung: Gewichtsmessung mittels
Dehnmessstreifen an der
Silounterbaukonstruktion
  
Automatisierung: Vollautomatik   

Eine logistische Herausforderung

Die Kunst bestand in diesem Projekt darin, die Arbeiten und Transporte so zu steuern, dass alle stetig weiterarbeiten konnten. Also vierzigmal den Sattelschlepper entladen und sogleich das Material verbauen. Sobald der letzte Kranzug erledigt war, musste bereits der nächste Lkw zur Materialentladung bereitstehen. Denn dann erst war wieder Lagerplatz frei für eine weitere Lkw-Ladung Baumaterial. Und nur gerade dann brauchte der Bautrupp den Kran nicht für die Aufbauarbeiten. ‹Just in time› lautete das Zauberwort. Wenn zu viel Material auf der Baustelle liegt, bleibt kein Platz zum Arbeiten. Wenn kein Material mehr da ist, muss das Montageteam warten. Das ist die logistische Herausforderung.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht Baustelle von oben

Vorteile der gemeinsamen Anlage
des Kanton Graubünden und der Stadt Chur

  • Synergien nutzen
  • Keine unnötigen Fahrtwege
  • ein Standort an vorteilhafter Lage
  • Keine Fahrten ins Zentrum zum Auffüllen der Fahrzeuge
  • Zeitersparnis
  • Hohe Lagerkapazitäten reichen den ganzen Winter
  • Gemeinsamer Salzeinkauf zu günstigeren Konditionen
  • Topmoderne Anlage für alle

Ein Silo mit Tännlifassade

Rhomboidschalung in Lärchenholz sah das Konzept von Marcel Liesch Architekten AG aus Chur für die 17 Meter hohe Fassade vor, die sich über die gesamte Siloanlage erstreckt. Ihre aussergewöhnliche Wirkung erhält die Fassade – eine sogenannte Tännlifassade – durch die schrägen Elemente mit Untersicht.

Siloanlage Chur Gesamtansicht Tännlifassade

Verkauf und Beratung

Lassen Sie sich von uns beraten

Mehr erfahren
Christian Ryffel, Betriebsleiter der Siloanlage Chur vor einem Schneeräumungsfahrzeug

Ein Interview mit Christian Ryffel

Was der Betriebsleiter der Siloanlage in Chur über die Anlage und die Zusammenarbeit mit der BL Silobau AG erzählt, erfahren Sie hier im ausführlichen Interview in unserem News-Magazin.

Stimmen in den Medien

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.