Complete facility in Ulm (Germany), comprising a salt storage depot, a timber silo and a brine facility

A warehouse for 4,000 tonnes of salt, 150 tonnes of gravel and 12 vehicles, a brine mixing facility with two storage tanks, a salt silo with a capacity of 200 m3 and a fully automated modular conveyor system for loading – these are just a few of the impressive stats for the city of Ulm’s new general waste disposal facility.

Planning challenge

We received the contract for the works as the sub-contractor of a German master builder who entrusted us with the entire planning and implementation process. The construction project was implemented during five month.

«At 55 m long and 20.5 m wide, this is one of the biggest salt and gravel warehouses we have ever produced. All in all, it was a technically demanding project. In addition to the requirements for the silo and brine technology, specific fire safety provisions, a complex static and other additional circumstances, such as the adjoining tram works, had to be taken into account in the planning.»
Andreas Grabher, project manager at BL Silobau AG

The dividing walls in the storage space are designed in such a way that they can be moved based on the amount being stored. 

Complete facility, Ulm (DE), inside of the salt storage depot with salt

Efficient salt conveyor system technology

In a harsh winter, the 200 m3 is used up within an estimated two days. The conveyor system attached to the silo is therefore used to top up the salt from the warehouse where necessary. And salt isn’t just salt. Depending on weather conditions, the moisture and, consequently, the weight of the salt can vary, That's when the variable rotary control comes into play. It works with the pressure sensors to automatically regulate the speed at which the salt is conveyed. This process is monitored by a remote-controlled maintenance portal.

Complete facility, Ulm (DE), conveyor technology

Fully automated brine generator

The general facility is also equipped with a fully automated brine generator (8,000 l/h), which directly procures the salt from the silo and fills two brine storage tanks with a volume of 40,000 l each. Multiple vehicles can be loaded at once from two brine extraction points. An integrated measuring and weighing system records all extractions of salt and brine and assigns them to each vehicle.

Complete facility, Ulm (DE), brine technology

Distance without obstruction

Thanks to the smooth cooperation with our client, you could barely feel the physical distance and our project manager was only on site in Ulm a few times.

Two employees mid-discussion with a model of a silo

Sales and consultation

Let us assist you

Find out more

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Gesamtanlage in Ulm (DE) bestehend aus einer Salzlagerhalle und einem Silo aus Holz sowie eine Soleanlage

Eine Lagerhalle für 4’000 t Salz, 150 t Split und 12 Fahrzeuge, eine Sole-Mischanlage mit zwei Lagertanks, ein Salzsilo mit einem Fassungsvermögen von 200 m3 und einer vollautomatisierten Modulförderanlage für die Beschickung – das sind nur einige der eindrücklichen Kennzahlen der neuen Gesamtanlage für die Entsorgungsbetriebe der Stadt Ulm.

Planerische Herausforderung

Wir erhielten den Auftrag für die Arbeiten; als Subunternehmerin eines deutschen Baumeisters, der uns mit der kompletten Planung und Ausführung beauftragte. Innerhalb von fünf Monaten wurde das Bauvorhaben realisiert.

«Mit 55 m Länge und 20,5 m Breite ist das eine der grössten Salz- und Splitlagerhallen, die wir bisher realisiert haben. Insgesamt war es ein technisch anspruchsvolles Projekt. So mussten neben den Anforderungen an die Silo- und Soletechnik spezifische Brandschutzvorschriften, eine komplexe Statik und weitere Umstände, wie der angrenzende Strassenbahnbetrieb, in die Planung einfliessen.»
Andreas Grabher, Projektleiter bei der BL Silobau AG

Die Trennwände im Lagerraum sind übrigens so gestaltet, dass sie je nach Umfang des Lagerguts verschoben werden können.

Gesamtanlage Ulm (DE) Salzlagerhalle von Innen mit Salz

Effiziente Salzförderung

Innerhalb von schätzungsweise zwei Tagen sind während eines strengen Winters die 200 m3 aufgebraucht. Mit der an den Silo gekoppelten Förderanlage wird daher nach Bedarf Salz aus den Lagern nachgefüllt. Und Salz ist nicht gleich Salz. Je nach Witterung kann die Feuchtigkeit und damit das Gewicht des Salzes variieren. Dann kommt die variable Zellradsteuerung zum Einsatz, die im Zusammenspiel mit Drucksensoren die Geschwindigkeit der Salzförderung automatisch regelt. Überwacht wird dieser Vorgang über ein ferngesteuertes Unterhaltsportal.

Gesamtanlage Ulm (DE) Fördertechnik

Vollautomatisierter Soleerzeuger

Ergänzt wird die Gesamtanlage mit einem vollautomatischen Soleerzeuger (8’000 l /h), der das Salz direkt aus dem Silo bezieht und zwei Solelagertanks mit einem Volumen von je 40’000 l füllt. An zwei Soleentnahmestellen können mehrere Fahrzeuge gleichzeitig beladen werden. Durch ein integriertes Mess- und Verwiegesystem werden sämtliche Entnahmen von Salz und Sole registriert und jedem Fahrzeug zugeordnet

Gesamtanlage Ulm (DE) Soletechnik

Distanz kein Hindernis

Dank der guten Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bauherrn war die räumliche Distanz kaum spürbar und unser Projektleiter musste nur wenige Male vor Ort in Ulm sein.

Detailbesprechung zweier Mitarbeiter mit Hilfe eines Silo-Modells

Verkauf und Beratung

Lassen Sie sich von uns beraten

Mehr erfahren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.