High-performance sawmill

In our sawmill – one of the biggest in Switzerland – we combine the latest technology with traditional craftsmanship. Some 125,000 m³ of spruce and fir from the region go through our sawmill annually. Here, two main machines do the lion’s share of the work: the chipper and the gang saw line. We use them to cut the logs and process the lumber further into a wide range of sawn timber and planed products. To be more precise: we turn 56% of the logs into sawn timber products such as rough-planed timber, laminated wood strips, packaging wood and sawn timber. The other 44% become our waste timber products such as wood chips, bark and sawdust.

State-of-the-art planing facility

With an integrated bandmill, cross-cutting and packaging, our planing facility is one of the largest and most modern of its kind in Switzerland.  With it, we produce 150 to 200 m³ of planed products daily and process approximately 35,000 m³ of sawn timber annually. For the processing of sawn timber products, we guarantee a high standard of quality and fast delivery times. 

Environmentally friendly pellets and bark products

We process waste timber from timber processing and the sawmill into additional natural products. Sawdust and wood shavings are processed into CO₂-neutral pellets that protect heating systems with their premium quality and density, while still warming the heart. Our bark briquettes for stoves and litter for small animals are made from pure, dried bark. 

Sustainable energy supply

An important component of our sustainable timber cycle is our in-house ORC biomass power plant. It burns the remaining waste timber, thereby supplying sufficient heat for wood drying processes, pellet production and the heating of our business premises.

In addition, some 1,500 households benefit from the sustainably produced electricity that we feed into the local power grid.

This is how we close the wood cycle at Erlenhof. At the same time, we also follow our vision: we use wood sustainably and work and produce in the most eco-friendly manner possible.

«Annually, we produce exactly as much energy from our waste timber as we consume at Erlenhof. That makes us energy independent, climate neutral and resource conserving.»

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Leistungsstarkes Sägewerk

In unserer Sägerei - einer der grössten in der Schweiz - kombinieren wir modernste Technologie mit traditionellem Sägehandwerk. Rund 125'000 m³ Fichten und Tannen aus der Region gelangen jährlich in unser Sägewerk. Hier verrichten zwei Hauptmaschinen den grössten Teil der Arbeit: die Zerspaner- und die Gatterlinie. Wir schneiden damit das Rundholz ein und verarbeiten es weiter zu vielfältigen Schnittholz- und Hobelprodukten. Oder konkreter: Aus 56 % des Rundholzes stellen wir Schnittwaren wie Rohhobler, Leimholzlamellen, Verpackungs- und Schnittholz her. Aus den anderen 44 % entstehen unsere Restholzprodukte Hackschnitzel, Rinde und Sägespäne.

Modernste Hobelanlage

Mit integrierter Trennbandsäge, Querkappung und Paketierung gehört unsere Hobelanlage zu den modernsten und grössten in der Schweiz. Wir produzieren damit 150 bis 200 m³ Hobelware täglich und verarbeiten circa 35'000 m³ Schnittholz jährlich. Bei der Verarbeitung der Schnittholz-Produkte garantieren wir einen hohen Qualitätsstandard und rasche Lieferzeiten. 

Umweltfreundliche Produktion von Pellets und Rindenbriketts

Restholz aus der Holzverarbeitung und dem Sägewerk verarbeiten wir zu weiteren natürlichen Produkten. Aus dem Sägemehl und den Hobelspänen entstehen CO₂-neutrale Pellets, die mit ihrer erstklassigen Qualität und Dichte die Heizsysteme schonen und die Herzen wärmen. Rindenbriketts für Zimmeröfen und Kleintierstreu stellen wir aus reiner, getrockneter Rinde her. 

Nachhaltige Energieversorgung

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil unseres nachhaltigen Holzkreislaufes ist das betriebseigene ORC-Biomassekraftwerk. Es verbrennt das übriggebliebene Restholz. Damit liefert es genügend Wärme für die Holztrocknung, die Pellet-Herstellung und die Heizung unserer Betriebsgebäude.

Daneben profitieren rund 1'500 Haushalte von der nachhaltig produzierten Elektrizität, die wir ins lokale Stromversorgungsnetz einspeisen.

So schliessen wir den Holzkreislauf auf dem Erlenhof. Gleichzeitig folgen wir unserer Vision: Wir nutzen den Werkstoff Holz nachhaltig und wir arbeiten und produzieren so klimaneutral wie möglich.

«Wir produzieren jährlich aus dem Restholz gleich viel Energie, wie wir im Erlenhof verbrauchen. Damit arbeiten wir energieautark, klimaneutral und ressourcenschonend.»

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.