Island resort in harmony with nature, in the Red Sea

Blumer Lehmann is responsible for the timber construction of the tourist buildings at the Ummahat Al Shaykh Island Resort designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma. The facility is part of ‘The Red Sea Project’, which will include a total of 50 luxury resorts on 22 islands in the Red Sea on the west coast of Saudi Arabia.

The Red Sea Development Company commissioned Blumer Lehmann to plan, produce and supply the prefabricated timber structures for numerous buildings, including hotels, water and beach villas, a spa and fitness building, restaurants and the reception building. Our teams will also provide technical support and be on hand to supervise the installation crews during the construction phase.

Architect Kengo Kuma took inspiration from the island’s natural elements for the design of the buildings at the luxury resort, including the sand dunes and coral. The gently vaulted Free Form roofs on the low-level rooms of the beach villas and other resort buildings therefore blend harmoniously with the undulating sandy landscape. The design of the water villas, with their spiral-shaped form and panoramic views, is based on the sea coral.

The timber construction of the buildings meets the strict requirements of ‘The Red Sea Project’ in terms of sustainability and preservation of the natural environment. Despite its enormous scale, harmony with nature and sustainability are specified core aims of the project.

Project details

Client:
The Red Sea Development Company
Architecture:
Kengo Kuma & Associates
Project type:
Hotels and restaurants, Leisure and sport
Construction type:
Wood element construction, Free Form
Services:
Timber construction
Construction:
2021-2022
Locality:
Shurayrah Island, Saudi-Arabien
Restaurant in the hotel complex of the Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort in the Red Sea, designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma

The Free Form timber roof on the restaurant at the Ummahat Al Shaykh Island Resort mimics the shape of the sand dunes.

View of the Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort in the Red Sea, designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma

The beach villas are being constructed sustainably and will blend seamlessly with their surroundings – in accordance with the strict requirements of ‘The Red Sea Project’.

Four-bed villa at Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort in the Red Sea, designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma

The gently vaulted Free Form timber roofs on the beach villas for four people resemble the shape of the sand dunes.

Aerial view of the hotel complex at the Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort in the Red Sea, designed by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma<br/>

The Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort is one of 50 resorts in The Red Sea Project, which will include a total of 8,000 hotel rooms and 1,000 tourist buildings.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to offer you the best possible experience of our website. This includes cookies that are necessary for the running of our website in addition to those used for statistical purposes, additional functions or for displaying personalised content. It is up to you to decide which categories you would like to allow. Please note that the settings you choose may mean that some of the functions of this website will no longer be available to you.

Hotelresort-Architektur mit Freiformdächern im Roten Meer

Blumer Lehmann verantwortet den Holzbau der Tourismusbauten im Ummahat Al Shaykh Island Resort nach den Plänen des japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma. Die Anlage ist Teil des «The Red Sea Projects» mit insgesamt 50 Luxusresorts auf 22 Inseln im Roten Meer an der Westküste Saudi Arabiens.

The Red Sea Development Company beauftragte Blumer Lehmann mit der Planung, Produktion und Lieferung der Holzbauelemente für mehrere Bauten: Hotels, Wasser- und Strand-Villen, ein Spa- und Fitnessgebäude, Restaurants und das Empfangsgebäude. Darüber hinaus leisten unsere Teams technischen Support und stehen den Montagecrews während der Bauphase zur Seite.

Für das Design der Gebäude im Luxusresort liess sich Architekt Kengo Kuma von den in der Natur vorkommenden Elementen der Insel inspirieren: Sanddünen und Korallen. So wölben sich freigeformte Holzdächer sanft über die niedrigen horizontalen Räume der Strandvillen und anderer Resortbauten und schaffen eine harmonische Beziehung zum gewellten Sandboden. Das Design der Wasservillen mit ihrer spiralförmigen Ausprägung und Panoramasicht ist den Meereskorallen nachempfunden.

Mit ihrer Bauweise aus Holz entsprechen die Bauten den strengen Anforderungen des «The Red Sea Projects» in Bezug auf die Nachhaltigkeit und die Erhaltung der natürlichen Umwelt, Denn Naturnähe und Nachhaltigkeit sind trotz der gigantischen Ausmasse definierte Kernziele des Projekts.

Projektdaten

Bauherrschaft:
The Red Sea Development Company
Architektur:
Kengo Kuma & Associates
Projektart:
Hotellerie und Gastronomie, Freizeit und Sport
Bauweise:
Holzelementbau, Free Form
Leistungen:
Holzbau
Ausführung:
2021-2022
Ort:
Shurayrah Island
Restaurant des Hotelkomplexes auf dem Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort im Roten Meer, entworfen vom japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma

Das freigeformte Holzdach des Restaurants im Ummahat Al Shaykh Island Resort übernimmt mit seiner Form das Aussehen der Sanddünen.

Sicht vom Meer auf das Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort am Roten Meer, entworfen vom japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma

Die Strandvillen sind - gemäss strengen Anforderungen des "The Red Sea Project" - nachhaltig und im Einklang mit ihrer Umgebung gebaut.

4-Bett-Villa im Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort im Roten Meer, entworfen vom japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma<br/><br/>

Die sanft gewölbten, freigeformten Holzdächer der Strandvillen für 4 Personen lassen an Sanddünen denken.

Luftaufnahme des Hotelkomplexes Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort im Roten Meer, entworfen vom japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma<br/><br/>

Luftaufnahme des Hotelkomplexes Ummahat Al Shayk Island Resort im Roten Meer, entworfen vom japanischen Architekten Kengo Kuma

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen ein bestmögliches Webseiten-Erlebnis zu bieten. Dazu zählen Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Seite notwendig sind, sowie solche, die zu Statistikzwecken, für Zusatzfunktionen, oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte genutzt werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf Basis Ihrer Einstellungen womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen.