Highly innovative construction of school buildings: the modular timber school buildings developed by Blumer Lehmann specifically for educational facilities consist of two base models and combine rapid planning with optimal flexibility. Times and costs for planning and production are optimised. Schools built with modular timber construction can be designed both as temporary structures (to provide space when the number of school children increases rapidly) and as long-term replacement buildings. The base models ‘small’ and ‘large’ can be adapted to suit the specifics of each site and each set of requirements. What’s more, modular timber construction also fulfils all statutory norms as well as energy and structural requirements.

The idea:
Standardised, serially produced timber modules deliver flexible, high-quality teaching spaces for educational facilities within a short timeframe.

Implementation:
Two modular timber base models can be configured to suit each facility’s needs. Functional fixed spaces provide the foundation for planning, whether for a primary school, pre-school, nursery or secondary school.

The biggest benefit:
Children, young people and teaching staff all benefit from the healthy learning environment offered by timber modules. Clients enjoy the benefits of cost certainty, quality assurance and adherence to schedules. They can count on the verified quality of our standardised timber modules. Blumer Lehmann is a specialist with the right experience to take on the full planning, production and assembly process for these buildings.

The benefits for clients

  • Efficient and reliable planning and implementation
  • Base models can be adapted individually and flexibly to requirements and sites
  • Short planning times, rapid production and very short installation times on the construction site
  • Lower planning and construction costs
  • Reliable scheduling
  • No disruption to school operations – extension and conversion during the summer holidays
  • Long-term space planning and financing for schools
  • Various financing models
  • Sustainable construction with re-usable modules and natural construction materials
  • Individual design of floor plans, interior design and facades
  • Planning using Building Information Modelling (BIM)

Do you have a concrete school construction project?

Please fill out this field
Please fill out this field
Please fill out this field

Advice from a timber module construction professional?

Mr Lukas Osterwalder, Head of modular construction, will be pleased to assist you.

T +41 71 388 58 20
lukas.osterwalder@blumer-lehmann.ch

More news about Blumer Lehmann?

Timber modules, base model in small and large

Two fully optimised base models for timber modules come in small and large versions and offer everything a modern school or childcare facility needs. A range of options covers any other specific requirements. Different sizes are planned around two layout concepts, delivering timber-structure schools in the right combinations and configurations to suit every requirement. This results in unique and bespoke modular educational structures for 70 to 360 students that are tailored to each school’s needs. The timber modules can be used for structures of up to three storeys and can include as many primary spaces and infrastructure areas as necessary. The base models can be designed and utilised cleverly thanks to the versatile nature of the modules. Additional wet rooms, group rooms and other spaces like a canteen, lounge area, kitchen, school hall or seating areas can be incorporated, depending on the number of students and what is required of the building. Plenty of architectural freedom is afforded in designing the different storeys and the layout, how spaces are arranged and the choice of materials for the cladding both inside and out. Modular timber structures offer a range of options depending on specifications and expectations: elevated or recessed into the ground, accessed from the outside via arcades or steps, the choice of facade cladding and shading as well as the interior specifications, furnishings and building technology.

Cross section of timber module, base model in small and large

Primary spaces in the modular timber school structure

Primary spaces are fixed room units that define the basic grid. The ingenious combination and arrangement of classrooms, group and intervention rooms results in a huge range of layout design options. With good planning, the modular design of the structure supports a wide variety of teaching styles.

Classroom:

At least three modular building units are combined to create a classroom providing space for 20 to 24 children or young people.

Group/separation room:

Accessible from two sides and comprising two modular building units, a separation room allows concentrated work in groups independently of classes

Primary spaces with classrooms, group/intervention rooms as fixed room units in the layout

School infrastructure areas in timber

Teachers’ room:

Fitted out with a small kitchenette, the teachers’ room allows teaching staff to hold undisturbed conversations and prepare lessons.

Wet rooms:

The size of the wet rooms is based upon the dimensions of the overall modular educational construction and is compliant with local directives.

Technical room:

Electrical, heating and air-conditioning installations are housed in the technical room.

Stairwell: Internal access within the modular educational construction is provided via a stairwell as standard. External arcades in timber or steel, lifts or external access via external staircases can also be provided as an option.

Staff room, stairwell, wet rooms and plant rooms form the infrastructure areas

Virtual glimpse into a school made of timber

Timber school module

The 3D visualisation of a modular school shows the interior finishing and use of materials in a furnished classroom. The interactive tour provides a realistic experience of the space. Get a virtual glimpse.

Go to the 360-degree panorama of a modular school
3D visualisation affords a virtual glimpse into a school made of timber

Building technology in a modular school construction

A sophisticated building technology concept, adapted to a modular timber design, delivers safe and sustainable sanitary, heating, air-conditioning and electrical installations. The basic technical concept for modular timber school structures involves heat generation using an air source heat pump. Radiators allow for controlled heat distribution in the primary spaces and are either surface-mounted as standard or can be integrated into the window breast on request. Sanitary and electrical installations are fitted unconcealed as standard. Installing them in this low-tech way provides ease of access and allows them to be adapted to suit individual requirements. Vulnerabilities are minimised and building technology systems require less maintenance.

Primary spaces in a modular timber school with sophisticated building technology concept

Modern school building equipped with all the right technology

A central air outlet space in the infrastructure area, together with fresh air, ensure the rooms in modular timber constructions are efficiently ventilated. The doors and windows are also fitted with air vents. Where requested, the rooms can be equipped with a compact ventilation unit that is controlled by the CO₂ content of the air indoors. It also means that rooms can be cooled, allowing room temperatures to be controlled with accuracy. Another option is for the entire building to be equipped with a controlled ventilation system, or it can be fitted with a photovoltaic system for sustainable power generation. Such a sophisticated building technology concept means that sanitary, heating, air conditioning and electrical installations require little maintenance, are efficient and take up very little space in the school.

Staff room, stairwell, wet rooms and plant rooms form the infrastructure areas

School facade in timber

In the spotlight

Prefabricated facade elements offer protection and give modular timber schools their special character. Various cladding options are available for the facade design of the modular educational construction. Clients and architects can choose between a pure timber facade, PV surfaces or a combination of other materials. With individual facades and different surfaces, school buildings, children’s daycare centres or kindergartens can blend seamlessly into existing building complexes and offer inviting designs.

Facade elements offer protection and give character to modular timber schools

Facade design concept

With various options for arranging and dividing the facade elements and individual selection of materials, the character of the buildings can be adapted to the location.

Facade elements arranged differently and with a customisable choice of materials

Facade shading

Modern solar shading solutions complement the facade concept, casting shadows in a variety of ways and protecting the building against the wind and weather:

  • Awnings
  • Composite louvres
  • Folding sliding shutters
  • Sliding shutters
  • Continuous arcades
Modern sun protection solutions complete the facade design

High-precision modular school structure

The production line at the Blumer Lehmann factory makes more than 500 modular units a year under optimum conditions. A modular construction method with a high level of prefabrication significantly cuts down on build times, construction costs and time spent on the construction site, and guarantees the utmost in build quality.

Modular timber construction on the production line at the Blumer Lehmann factory

BIM – digital modular timber construction

Prefabricating standardised modules as well as digital planning and construction processes are the ideal parameters for using BIM to plan and implement every aspect of a project, regardless of scale. All companies involved in a project come together in the early stages to work on the same 3D model in an integrated and structured way, and all at the same time. Communicating with each other openly and on a regular basis is an important part of this. This renders all decisions, alterations and enquiries transparent and accountable. Investors, clients and architects can count on a high level of process certainty and construction quality and can gain an insight into the project at any time. Costs and schedules can be planned with precision.

Digital planning and construction processes create the best conditions for building with timber modules

Modular construction brochure

Educational space for the future

The brochure gives an overview of the schools of tomorrow; how both temporary and permanent modular school structures can be built in a modular timber design.

Read more about Educational space for the future
Brochure: Modular construction – Educational space for the future by Blumer Lehmann

References for modular timber school buildings

Visualisation of a single-storey, temporary school building in Berlin Schönefeld. The wooden facade stands out against the green meadow and blue sky.

School of the future – single-storey modular construction

The ‘flying classroom’ in Berlin is a pilot project for the school of the future. The flexible modular construction creates the foundations for innovative schooling concepts.

‘The flying classroom’ – go to the reference

The two-storey modular construction offers sufficient space for informative lessons.

School pavilion – space issues solved

This two-storey school pavilion in Beinwil am See provided much-needed space on an interim basis and offers mobility despite the exacting architecture.

‘Two-storey school pavilion’ – go to the reference

The modular construction not only provides a colourful classroom environment, it also has a vibrant facade.

School and pre-school pavilions – vibrant school spaces

The ‘Modular Zug’ uses the modular system to provide flexible and temporary school spaces. The different floor plans made possible by a modular timber design accommodate varying space requirements.

‘Colourful modular construction’ – go to the reference

Overall view of the ZM10 Sihlweid school pavilion in Zurich on the school grounds and with a school bilding in the background

‘Zurich Modular’ – temporary school space

The ‘Zurich Modular’ three-storey modular constructions provide temporary school space for a period of 10 to 15 years. The 110 timber modules will be re-used later at a different location.

‘ZM10 pavilions’ – go to the reference

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Schulhausbau weitergedacht: Die von Blumer Lehmann speziell für Bildungseinrichtungen entwickelte Schule im Holzmodulbau umfasst zwei Basismodelle und vereint schnelle Planung mit grösster Flexibilität. Zeit und Kosten für die Planung und Fertigung werden optimiert. Die Schule in Holzmodulbauweise kann als Temporärbau (bei Raumproblemen infolge schnell steigenden Schülerzahlen) oder für den langfristigen Einsatz als Ersatzbau konzipiert werden. Die beiden Basismodelle «klein» und «gross» lassen sich spezifisch an die Bedürfnisse und Grundstücksfläche anpassen. Hinzu erfüllt die Holzmodulbauweise alle gesetzlichen Normen sowie energie- und bauphysikalischen Anforderungen.

Die Idee:
Standardisierte, seriell gefertigte Holzmodule stellen in kurzer Zeit flexible und hochwertige Schulräume für Bildungseinrichtungen bereit.

Die Umsetzung:
Zwei Holzmodulbau-Basismodelle sind entsprechend individuellen Bedürfnissen konfigurierbar. Fix definierte Funktionsräume dienen als Grundlage für die Planung; ob Schulhaus, Kindergarten, Kindertagesstätte oder Gymnasium.

Das grosse Plus:
Kinder, Jugendliche und Lehrpersonen profitieren vom lerngesunden Raumklima im Holzmodulbau. Bauherren kommt die hohe Kosten-, Termin- und Qualitätssicherheit zugute. Sie können sich auf die geprüfte Qualität unserer standardisierten Holzmodule verlassen. Blumer Lehmann ist der erfahrene Ansprechpartner, der die gesamte Planung, Produktion und Montage der Bauten übernimmt.

Die Vorteile für den Bauherren

  • Effizient und sicher plan- und umsetzbar
  • Basismodelle lassen sich individuell und flexibel an Bedürfnisse und Grundstücke anpassen
  • Kurze Planungszeit, rasche Fertigung und kürzeste Installationszeit auf der Baustelle
  • Tiefere Planungs- und Erstellungskosten
  • Zuverlässige Terminplanung
  • Keine Störung des Schulbetriebes – Erweiterung und Umbau in den Sommerferien
  • Langfristige Schulraumplanung und -finanzierung
  • Verschiedene Finanzierungmodelle
  • Nachhaltige Bauweise mit wiederverwendbaren Modulen und natürlichem Baustoff
  • Individuelle Gestaltung von Grundriss, Innenausbau und Fassade
  • Planung mittels Building Information Modeling BIM

Verfügen Sie über ein konkretes Schulbau-Projekt?

Bitte füllen Sie das Feld aus
Bitte füllen Sie das Feld aus
Bitte füllen Sie das Feld aus

Beratung vom Holzmodulbau-Profi?

Herr Lukas Osterwalder, Bereichsleiter Modulares Bauen, steht Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

T +41 71 388 58 20
lukas.osterwalder@blumer-lehmann.ch

Wünschen Sie sich noch mehr News von Blumer Lehmann?

Holzmodule Basismodell klein und gross

Zwei optimierte Holzmodul-Basismodelle in kleiner und grosser Ausführung bieten alles, was ein moderner Betreuungs- und Schulbau braucht. Eine Vielfalt an Optionen deckt alle weiteren spezifischen Anforderungen ab. Für eine individuelle Kombination und Konfiguration der Schule aus Holz wird auf Basis von zwei Grundrisskonzepten in verschiedenen Grössen geplant. Umgesetzt wird ein einzigartiger, individueller Bildungsmodulbau mit 70 bis 360 Bildungsplätzen, der den jeweiligen Bedürfnissen entspricht. Die Holzmodule lassen sich für bis zu 3-geschossige Bauten einsetzen und beliebig mit Haupt- und Infrastrukturräumen erweitern. Dank ihrer modularen Vielseitigkeit lassen sich die Basismodelle clever planen und nutzen. Je nach Anzahl Bildungsplätzen und entsprechenden Nutzungsbedürfnissen werden mehr Nasszellen, Gruppenräume oder weitere Räume wie Mensa, Aufenthaltsraum, Küche, Aula oder Sitzecken eingeplant. Viel architektonische Freiheit ermöglicht die Gestaltung der Geschossigkeit und des Grundrisses, die Anordnung der Räume und die Wahl der Materialien für die Innen- und Aussenverkleidung. Je nach Vorgaben und Vorstellungen bestehen verschiedene Optionen für den Holzmodulbau: aufgeständert oder im Terrain abgesenkt, mit Erschliessung von aussen über Laubengänge oder Treppen, in der Art der Fassadenverkleidung und Beschattung sowie des Innenausbaus, der Möblierung und der Haustechnik.

Querschnitt der Holzmodule Basismodell klein und gross

Haupträume der Schule im Holzmodulbau

Haupträume als fix definierte Raumeinheiten geben den Grundraster vor. Die Vielfalt in der Grundriss-Gestaltung entsteht durch raffiniertes Kombinieren und Ergänzen von Unterrichts- sowie Gruppen- und Teilungsräumen. Sinnvoll geplant lassen sich durch die modulare Bauweise unterschiedlichste Schulkonzepte umsetzen.

Unterrichtsraum:
Mindestens drei Modulbaueinheiten bilden zusammen einen Unterrichtsraum, in dem 20 bis 24 Kinder oder Jugendliche Platz finden.

Gruppen-/ Teilungsraum:
Von zwei Seiten erschlossen und aus zwei Modulbaueinheiten zusammengesetzt, erlaubt ein Teilungsraum das konzentrierte Arbeiten in Gruppen, unabhängig vom Klassenverbund.

Haupträume Unterrichts- sowie Gruppen-/Teilungsraum als fix definierte Raumeinheiten im Grundriss

Infrastrukturräume der Schule aus Holz

Lehrerraum:
Ausgestattet mit einer kleinen Kochnische bietet der Lehrerraum den Lehrkräften die Möglichkeit des ungestörten Austausches und der Unterrichtsvorbereitung.

Nasszellen:
Die Grösse der Nasszellen hängt von den Dimensionen des gesamten Bildungsmodulbaus ab und richtet sich nach den örtlichen Vorschriften.

Technikraum:
Die Installationen für die Elektrotechnik, Heizung und Klima sind im Technikraum untergebracht.

Treppenhaus: Standardmässig wird der Bildungsmodulbau im Innenbereich durch eine Treppe erschlossen. Optional sind aussenliegende Laubengänge in Holz oder Stahl, Aufzüge oder eine externe Erschliessung durch aussenliegende Treppenaufgänge möglich.

Lehrerraum, Treppenhaus, Nasszellen und Technik bilden die Infrastrukturräume

Virtueller Einblick in die Schule aus Holz

Holzmodul Bildungsbau

Die 3D-Visualisierung der modularen Schule zeigt den Innenausbau sowie die Materialisierung eines möblierten Klassenzimmers. Der Raum lässt sich dank der interaktiven Besichtigung realitätsnah erleben. Verschaffen sie sich einen virtuellen Einblick.

Zum 360 Grad Panorama der modularen Schule
3D Visualisierung verschafft einen virtuellen Einblick in die Schule aus Holz

Haustechnik im modularen Schulhausbau

Ein durchdachtes Haustechnik-Konzept, abgestimmt auf die modulare Holzbauweise, sorgt für sichere und umweltverträgliche Sanitär-, Heizungs-, Klima- und Elektroinstallationen. Das technische Grundkonzept der Schule im Holzmodulbau sieht die Wärmeerzeugung mit einer Luft-Wärmepumpe vor. Für die kontrollierte Wärmeverteilung in den Haupträumen sorgen Heizradiatoren, die standardmässig Aufputz installiert oder optional in die Brüstung integriert werden. Die Sanitär- und Elektroinstallationen sind standardmässig sichtbar verlegt. Durch die Low-Tech-Anbringung bleiben die Installationen gut zugänglich und individuell anpassbar. Anfälligkeiten werden minimiert und die Haustechnik-Anlagen benötigen wenig Unterhaltsarbeiten.

Haupträume der modularen Schule aus Holz mit durchdachtem Haustechnik-Konzept

Moderner Schulbau technisch gut ausgerüstet

Eine Abluftzentrale im Infrastrukturbereich sowie Frischluft sorgen für eine effiziente Raumlüftung der Holzmodulbauweise. Dazu sind bei den Fenstern und Türen Nachströmöffnungen angebracht. Auf Wunsch können die Räume mit einem Kompakt-Lüftungsgerät ausgestattet werden, das über den CO₂-Gehalt im Innenraum gesteuert wird. Zusätzlich ermöglicht es die Kühlung der Räume, wodurch sich das Raumklima zielgenau regeln lässt. Als weitere Option kann das gesamte Gebäude mit einer kontrollierten Lüftungsanlage ausgestattet oder für eine nachhaltige Energieerzeugung eine Photovoltaik-Anlage installiert werden. Aufgrund des durchdachten Haustechnik-Konzepts beanspruchen Sanitär-, Heizungs-, Klima- und Elektroinstallationen in der Schule wenig Raum, sind wartungsarm und effizient.

Infrastrukturräume der modularen Schule aus Holz mit Sanitär-, Heizungs-, Klima- und Elektroinstallationen<br/>

Fassade der Schule aus Holz

Im Blickpunkt

Vorgefertigte Fassadenelemente bieten Schutz und verleihen der Schule im Holzmudoubau ihren unverwechselbaren Charakter. Diverse Verkleidungsoptionen kommen für die Fassadengestaltung des Bildungsmodulbaus in Frage. Bauherren und Architekten haben die Wahl zwischen einer reinen Holzfassade oder der Integration von anderen Materialien bis hin zu PV-Oberflächen. Mit individuellen Fassaden und unterschiedlichen Oberflächen fügen sich Schulhäuser, Kindertagesstätten oder Kindergärten in bestehende Gebäudekomplexe ein und lassen sich einladend gestalten.

Fassadenelemente bieten Schutz und verleihen der Schule im Holzmodulbau Charakter

Fassaden Gestaltungskonzept

Mit unterschiedlichen Anordnungsmöglichkeiten und Einteilungen der Fassadenelemente und individueller Materialisierung erhalten die Gebäude einen standortbezogenen Charakter.

Fassadenelemente in unterschiedlicher Anordnung und individueller Materialisierung

Fassaden Beschattung

Moderne Sonnenschutzlösungen ergänzen das Fassadenkonzept, spenden auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise Schatten und schützen vor Wind und Wetter:

  • Ausstellmarkisen
  • Verbund-Rafflamellen
  • Falt-Schiebeläden
  • Schiebeläden
  • Umlaufende Laubengänge
Moderne Sonnenschutzlösungen ergänzen das Fassadenkonzept

Modul-Schulhausbau mit Präzision

Bei optimalen Bedingungen entstehen auf der Fertigungsstrasse im Werk von Blumer Lehmann jährlich über 500 Moduleinheiten. Der Modulbau mit hohem Vorfertigungsgrad verkürzt die Bauzeit, senkt die Erstellungskosten, garantiert höchste Verarbeitungsqualität und reduziert die Baustellenzeit erheblich.

Holzmodulbau auf der Fertigungsstrasse im Werk von Blumer Lehmann

BIM – digitaler Holzmodulbau

Die Vorfertigung der standardisierten Module und digitale Planungs- und Bauprozesse schaffen beste Voraussetzungen, um Projekte jeder Grösse ganzheitlich im BIM zu planen und abzuwickeln. Alle projektbeteiligten Unternehmen arbeiten frühzeitig, gleichzeitig, vernetzt und strukturiert am gleichen digitalen 3D-Modell zusammen und tauschen sich regelmässig und intensiv aus. Entscheide, Änderungen und Nachfragen sind somit transparent nachvollziehbar. Bauinvestoren, Bauherren und Architekten können mit einer hohen Prozesssicherheit und Bauqualität rechnen sowie jederzeit Einsicht in das Projekt nehmen. Die Kosten und Termine sind exakt planbar.

digitale Planungs- und Bauprozesse schaffen beste Voraussetzungen für den Holzmodulbau

Broschüre Modulares Bauen

Bildungsraum für die Zukunft

Die Broschüre schafft einen Überblick über die Schule der Zukunft; wie modulare Schulhäuser temporär oder langfristig in Holzmodulbauweise realisiert werden können.

Mehr über den Bildungsraum der Zukunft erfahren
Broschüre Modulares Bauen Bildungsraum für die Zukunft von Blumer Lehmann

Referenzen Schulbauten im Holz-Modulbau

Visualisierung eines eingeschossiges temporären Schulhauses in Berlin Schönefeld. Die Holzfassade hebt sich von der grünen Wiese und vom blauen Himmel ab.

Schule der Zukunft – eingeschossiger Modulbau

Das fliegende Klassenzimmer in Berlin gilt als Pilotprojekt für die Schule der Zukunft. Der flexible Modulbau schafft Grundlagen für innovative Schulhauskonzepte.

"Das fliegende Klassenzimmer" – zur Referenz

Der zweistöckige Modulbau bietet genügend Platz für lehrreiche Stunden.

Schulpavillon – Raumprobleme gelöst

Der zweigeschossige Schulpavillon in Beinwil am See löste Raumprobleme kurzfristig und vereint Mobilität trotz anspruchsvoller Architektur.

"Zweigeschossiger Schulpavillon" – zur Referenz

Nicht nur im Unterricht kann es bunt zu und hergehen, auch der Modulbau besitzt eine lebendige Fassade.

Schul- und Kindergartenpavillions – lebendiger Schulraum

Das "Modular Zug" stellt mit seinem modularen Baukastensystem flexiblen, temporären Schulraum zur Verfügung. Verschiedene Grundrissvariationen der modularen Holzbauweise tragen einem variablen Raumbedarf Rechnung.

"Farbenfroher Modulbau" – zur Referenz

Gesamtansicht des ZM10-Schulpavillons Sihlweid in Zürich auf dem Schulareal und mit Schulhaus im Hintergrund

"Zürich Modular" – provisorischer Schulraum

Die dreigeschossigen Modulbauten "Zürich Modular" stellen während 10 bis 15 Jahren provisorischen Schulraum bereit. Die 110 Module aus Holz werden danach an einem neuen Standort weiterverwendet.

"Pavillons ZM10" – zur Referenz

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.