A milestone in the history of timber construction

The serpentine construction of the Swatch main building stretches an impressive 240 m along the river Schüss, spans up to 35 m in width and at its highest point bites into the new Cité du Temps building. Up to five storeys high, on completion the ‘Swatch snake’ will house office and storage space. The timber construction will be clad with a façade, or rather an exterior skin, composed of 3 main façade types.

«IN SPITE OF THE STATE-OF-THE-ART TECHNOLOGY, THE MOST IMPORTANT FACTOR IN THE SUCCESS OF THE PROJECT WAS THE PEOPLE WORKING ON IT. EVERYONE HAD TO DO OUTSTANDING WORK IN THEIR FIELD IN ORDER TO ACHIEVE THIS EXTRAORDINARY RESULT. I’M PROUD OF OUR TEAM!»
Richard Jussel, CEO Blumer-Lehmann AG

The wooden, five-storey Cité du Temps building, which was also planned, produced and assembled by Blumer-Lehmann AG, stands on a sleek, Free Form steel and concrete pillar construction. Here, specialist timber construction knowledge was needed, since the structure is an innovative combination of a timber frame and wood element construction. In this building, there is space for the two museums Planet Swatch and Omega Museum and for an auditorium on the top floor. The third timber construction is the Omega production and logistics building. We erected this building back in 2015, which stands about 400 m further west.

All three buildings are architecturally and technically striking. They show what is possible with the combination of innovative architecture, parameterised planning processes, and precision manufacturing and production methods. Notwithstanding the state-of-the-art technology, it is ultimately the people and the interaction of the expertise and skills of all parties involved that ensured the success of this large-scale project.

About the project Swatch

The project managers from Blumer Lehmann planned the Free Form timber construction for the Swatch headquarters in Biel precisely to a 10th of a millimetre. With the aid of parametric planning and highly precise production, logistics and installation, the result was a unique and spectacular construction made of Swiss timber. This extraordinary timber construction was designed by Japanese star architect Shigeru Ban.

Insights from the construction site

Construction kit with 4,600 parts

The entire timber construction comprises 4,600 wooden beams. No component appears in the same version twice. The right element at the right time in the right place to keep the installation process flowing throughout the
10-month construction period – this logistical challenge required meticulous planning, and control and monitoring of processes down to the smallest detail. The components were manufactured mainly on two of our systems in Gossau. Other production partners in Switzerland and abroad were involved in processing with special machines and thus had to be supplied with production data and raw materials. Last but not least, there was the overall logistical coordination. The main portion of our work was completed in late summer 2017. Our specialists mastered the complex task with aplomb. Not once did
a missing component result in construction delays.

The challenge

Richard Jussel, CEO Blumer-Lehmann AG

Richard Jussel, CEO of Blumer-Lehmann AG and the main person responsible for the Swatch-building, talks about the challenges and characteristics of the project.

The production and logistics

Felix Holenstein, project planning

Felix Holenstein, responsible for project planning, raw material procurement, logistics, production and quality control, talks about the special approach of the Swatch project.

The parameterization

Daniel Ehrbar und Jan Hempel, conception 2D/3D

Daniel Ehrbar, responsible for 2D planning and Jan Hempel, responsible for 3D planning, talk about the parameterization and complexity of the Swatch project.

Construction site management

Stefan Bischoff, construction site coordination

Stefan Bischoff, responsible for the installation concept, installation lead on-site and site coordination, gives an insight into the challenges of assembly and component supply at the construction site.

The assembly

Simon Huber und Andreas Raschle, management of assembly

Simon Huber and Andreas Raschle talk about the work on the construction site, the high safety requirements and the challenges of assembling a very complex building.

The last component

In July 2017, we produced the last Free Form component for the Swatch main building on our TW-Mill timber framing. A historic moment!

Interview with architect Shigeru Ban

The works of Japanese architect Shigeru Ban, Pritzker prize winner in 2014, are characterised by innovative design and unconventional material combinations. He is also known for his charitable work with the construction of emergency shelters in crisis zones. Shigeru Ban is an avowed fan of wood and we have had the privilege of implementing various projects together with him in recent years.

Mr Ban, what inspired you to come up with the concept for the Swatch building?

The original request from Swatch Group was to build three separate buildings. I brought them together under a Free Form roof that represents the characteristics of the Swatch brand: playfulness, innovation and provocation. The intention was to create a contrast to the buildings of Omega, the precision, exactness and stability.


What were the central challenges for you in the design process for this project?

The coordination work for the façade elements, electrical installations, climate control and heating, ventilation and the sprinkler system – they all had to be integrated into the timber construction.


What challenges did wood pose for you as the main construction material of the building?


There were not actually any challenges in that regard. Wood is extremely flexible in terms of design and highly precise production, and the installation work is fast and quiet.


How was the collaboration with the team from Blumer-Lehmann AG?

I have a great deal of respect for the team from Blumer-Lehmann AG. They have traditional craftsmanship skills and yet also work with state-of-the-art 3D modelling and CNC machines. I enjoyed working with them and I am looking forward to our next collaboration.

Press area

Find out more

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Ein Stück Holzbaugeschichte

Schlangenförmig zieht sich die eindrückliche 240 m lange und bis zu 35 m breite Holzkonstruktion des Swatch-Hauptgebäudes entlang dem Flüsschen Schüss und beisst sich am höchsten Punkt in den neuen Bau der Cité du Temps. Die bis zu fünf Geschossen hohe «Swatch-Schlange» beherbergt Büro- und Lagerräume. Verkleidet ist die Holzkonstruktion mit einer Fassade oder vielmehr mit einer Dachhaut aus drei verschiedenen Haupt-Fassadentypen.

«DER WICHTIGSTE FAKTOR FÜR DAS GELINGEN DES PROJEKTS WAREN TROTZ MODERNSTER TECHNOLOGIE DIE BETEILIGTEN MITARBEITENDEN. ALLE MUSSTEN IN IHREM BEREICH EXZELLENTE ARBEIT LEISTEN, UM DIESES GROSSARTIGE RESULTAT ZU ERREICHEN. ICH BIN STOLZ AUF UNSERE MANNSCHAFT!»
Richard Jussel, Geschäftsführer Blumer-Lehmann AG

Auf einer filigranen, freigeformten Stahl-Beton-Säulenkonstruktion steht die hölzerne fünfgeschossige Cité du Temps, die ebenfalls von der Blumer-Lehmann AG geplant, produziert und montiert wurde. Auch hier kam spezialisiertes Holzbauwissen zur Anwendung, da es sich um eine innovative Verbindung eines Holzskelett- und Holzelementbaus handelt. In diesem Gebäude ist Raum für die zwei Museen Planet Swatch und das Omega Museum sowie ein Auditorium im obersten Stockwerk geschaffen worden. Der dritte Holzbau ist das Omega Produktions- und Logistikgebäude. Dieses errichteten wir bereits im Jahr 2015; es steht ungefähr 400 m weiter westlich.

Alle drei Bauten sind architektonische und technische Highlights. Sie zeigen auf, was in Kombination von innovativer Architektur, parametrisierten Planungsprozessen sowie präzisen Fertigungs- und Produktionsmethoden möglich ist. Trotz modernster Technologie sind es die Menschen und das Zusammenwirken von Kompetenz und Know-how aller Projektbeteiligten, die den Erfolg dieses Grossprojektes ausmachen.

Über das Swatch-Projekt

Auf den Zehntelmillimeter genau planten die Projektverantwortlichen von Blumer Lehmann den Free Form-Holzbau für den Swatch Hauptsitz in Biel. Mit Hilfe parametrischer Planung sowie höchst präziser Produktion, Logistik und Montage entstand ein einmaliges und spektakuläres Bauwerk aus Schweizer Holz. Entworfen wurde der aussergewöhnliche Holzbau vom japanischen Stararchitekten Shigeru Ban.

Impressionen von der Baustelle

Bausatz mit 4600 Teilen

4600 Holzträger bilden die gesamte Holzkonstruktion. Kein Bauteil kommt in der gleichen Ausführung zweimal vor. Immer das richtige Element zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort zu haben, damit die Montage während der zehnmonatigen Bauzeit planmässig voranschreitet – diese logistische Herausforderung verlangte, die Prozesse bis ins kleinste Detail zu planen, zu steuern und zu überwachen. Die Bauteile wurden hauptsächlich auf zwei unserer Anlagen in Gossau gefertigt. Weitere Produktionspartner im In- und Ausland waren mit Spezialmaschinen in die Bearbeitung involviert und mussten mit Produktionsdaten und Rohmaterial versorgt werden. Nicht zu vergessen, die übergreifende Koordination der Logistik. Der Hauptteil unserer Arbeit war im Spätsommer 2017 abgeschlossen. Unsere Spezialisten meisterten diese komplexe Aufgabe mit Bravour: Kein einziges Mal verursachte ein fehlendes Bauteil eine Bauverzögerung.

Die Herausforderung

Richard Jussel, Geschäftsführer Blumer-Lehmann AG

Richard Jussel, Geschäftsführer der Blumer-Lehmann AG und Hauptverantwortlicher des Swatch-Bau spricht über die Herausforderungen und Eigenheiten des Projekts.

Die Produktion und Logistik

Felix Holenstein, Projektplanung

Felix Holenstein, verantwortlich für die Projektplanung, Rohlingbeschaffung, Logistik, Produktion und Qualitätskonrolle gibt Auskunft über die spezielle Vorgehensweise beim Swatch-Projekt.

Die Parametrisierung

Daniel Ehrbar und Jan Hempel, Projektleitung Holzbau

Daniel Ehrbar, verantwortlich für die 2D-Planung und Jan Hempel, verantwortlich für die 3D-Planung, sprechen über die Parametrisierung und die Komplexität des Swatch- Projekts.

Die Baustellenleitung

Stefan Bischoff, Koordination der Baustelle

Stefan Bischoff, verantwortlich für das Montagekonzept und die Baustellenkoordination des Swatch-Projekts gibt Einblicke in die Herausforderungen der Montage und die Bauteilversorgung der Baustelle.

Die Montage

Simon Huber und Andreas Raschle, Montageleitung

Simon Huber und Andreas Raschle erzählen über die Arbeit auf der Baustelle, die hohen Sicherheitsanforderungen und die Herausforderungen der Montage eines überaus komplexen Gebäudes.

Das letzte Bauteil

Im Juli 2017 wurde auf unserer Abbund-Anlage TW-Mill von Technowood das letzte Free Form Bauteil für das Swatch Hauptgebäude produziert. Ein historischer Moment!

Im Gespräch mit Stararchitekt Shigeru Ban

Die Werke des japanischen Architekten Shigeru Ban, Pritzker Preisgewinner im Jahr 2014, zeichnen sich durch innovatives Design und unkonventionelle Material-kombinationen aus. Bekannt wurde er auch durch seine karitativen Engagements mit dem Bau von Notunterkünften in Krisengebieten. Shigeru Ban ist bekennender Holzfan, so durften wir in den vergangenen Jahren verschiedene Projekte gemeinsam realisieren.

Herr Ban, was hat Sie zum Konzept des Swatch-Gebäudes inspiriert?

Die ursprüngliche Anforderung der Swatch Group war es, drei separate Gebäude zu bauen. Ich habe diese unter einem freigeformten Dach vereint, das für die Charakteristiken der Marke Swatch steht: Verspieltheit, Innovation und Provokation. Die Absicht war, einen Kontrast zu schaffen zu den Gebäuden von Omega, die Präzision, Genauigkeit und Stabilität symbolisieren.

Welches waren für Sie die zentralen Herausforderungen im Designprozess dieses Projekts?

Die Koordinationsarbeiten von Fassadenelementen, Elektroinstallationen, Klimatisierung und Heizung, Lüftung und Sprinkleranlage, die alle in die Holzkonstruktion integriert werden mussten.

Vor welche Herausforderungen hat Sie Holz als Hauptbaustoff des Gebäudes gestellt?

Da gibt es eigentlich keine Herausforderungen. Holz ist äusserst flexibel, hinsichtlich Design und hochpräziser Produktion, zudem verlaufen die Montagearbeiten schnell und ruhig.

Wie haben Sie die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Team der Blumer-Lehmann AG erlebt?

Ich habe grossen Respekt für das Team der Blumer-Lehmann AG. Sie beherrschen die traditionelle Handwerkskunst und arbeiten gleichzeitig mit modernsten 3D-Modellierungen und CNC-Anlagen. Ich arbeite gerne mit ihnen und freue mich bereits auf unsere nächste Zusammenarbeit.

Für die Medien

Mehr erfahren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihr Erlebnis auf unserer Website zu verbessern und Ihnen bei Bedarf die Registrierung zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Cookie-Richtlinie.