Timber construction for the senses

With its light and dark clinker brick facade, the mosque in Cambridge, England, is in perfect sympathy with the surrounding rows of typical houses. The timber construction becomes clearly apparent in the entrance area, where the first of the thirty timber columns can be seen as they soar upwards like trees, merging with the lattice-like ceiling structure to form a vast tracery of timber. In addition to a prayer hall with a ceiling height of 8.5 m that can accommodate around 1,000 worshippers, the building includes a café and two apartments.

The design by London-based Marks Barfield Architects draws on the motif of a garden of paradise, with the interweaving branches of the trees forming the supporting timber structure. The Blumer Lehmann free-form team advised the architects on the implementation of the challenging structure during the development phase. Our know-how of digital processes and parametric planning came to the fore during the subsequent production. Together with our partners, we developed a modular system from design to production with 2746 components in 145 variants, thus overcoming the complex challenges of production, logistics and assembly. Precise labelling of the various components ensured efficient and clear organisation. Thanks to the exact timing, each component reached the construction site in England at the correct time, allowing seamless assembly by our team.

Project details

Client:
Cambridge Mosque Trust
Architecture:
Marks Barfield Architects
Project type:
Art and culture
Construction type:
Free Form
Services:
Timber construction
Construction:
2018
Locality:
Cambridge, UK
The interior is dominated by the tree-like wooden supporting structure. The skylights in the ceiling light up the vast space. The doors and individual details on the walls are designed in an oriental wooden structure.

Prayer hall with free-form supporting structure

Gallery

Photograph taken beneath the dome of the Cambridge Mosque from the inside. The tree-like wooden supporting structures can be seen around the dome.

30 skylights bathe the mosque in light

The tree-like supporting structure can even be seen from outside the Cambridge Mosque. The forecourt provides green space while the walls are designed with striking patterns.

Entrance to the mosque

Overall view of the Cambridge Mosque taken from the access road. The tree-like wooden supporting structure in the entrance area and golden dome in the background are already visible.

External view of Cambridge Mosque

External photograph of the Cambridge Mosque. The image also shows a number of men in conversation around the oriental fountain with seating.

View of the mosque’s atrium

The photograph shows the washing area of the Cambridge Mosque. The stools are made of stone and clad with wooden panels. The taps are fixed to a blue slab wall.

Place for the faithful to perform cleaning rituals

Detailed view of the oriental patterned wall of the Cambridge Mosque

Eastern ornamentation

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Cambridge Mosque – une construction en bois pour un lieu de culte

Avec sa façade en briques clinker claires et foncées, la mosquée de Cambridge (en Angleterre), s’intègre harmonieusement aux rangées de maisons typiques qui l’entourent. Au plus tard dans la zone d’entrée, on constate que le bâtiment est construit en bois. On y aperçoit déjà les premières des trente colonnes en bois, qui s’élèvent comme des arbres et se mêlent en un gigantesque tressage dans la structure du plafond grillagée. Outre la salle de prière avec une hauteur sous plafond de 8,50 m pouvant accueillir près de 1000 fidèles, l’édifice abrite également un café ainsi que deux appartements.

La conception réalisée par le bureau d’architectes Marks Barfield Architects basé à Londres reprend le motif d’un jardin du paradis, avec des branches d’arbre enchevêtrées qui forment la structure portante en bois. L’équipe Free-Form de Blumer Lehmann a conseillé les architectes dès la phase de développement lors de la réalisation de ce bâtiment ambitieux. Notre savoir-faire en matière de processus numériques et de planification paramétrique a été mis à contribution lors de la production ultérieure des composants. En collaboration avec nos partenaires de Design-to-production, nous avons développé une sorte de système modulaire avec 2746 composants en 145 variantes, répondant ainsi aux défis complexes de la fabrication, de la logistique et du montage. L’étiquetage précis des différents composants a permis d’assurer une organisation efficace et claire. Grâce au timing impeccable, chaque composant est finalement arrivé au bon moment sur le chantier en Angleterre et le montage par notre équipe a été effectué sans encombre.

Données du projet

Maître d'ouvrage:
Cambridge Mosque Trust
Architecture:
Marks Barfield Architects
Type de projet:
Art et culture
Type de construction:
Free Form
Prestations:
Construction en bois
Réalisation:
2018
Lieu:
Cambridge, UK
L’espace intérieur est dominé par la structure porteuse en bois en forme d’arbre. Les ouvertures vitrées du plafond éclairent l’immense pièce. Les portes ainsi que certains détails des murs ont été réalisés avec une structure orientale en bois.

Salle de prière avec structure porteuse Free Form

Prise de vue intérieure, sous la coupole de la mosquée de Cambridge. Tout autour, on voit les structures porteuses en bois en forme d’arbres.

30 lucarnes laissent entrer beaucoup de lumière dans la mosquée

La structure porteuse boisée en forme d’arbre se remarque déjà à l’extérieur de la mosquée de Cambridge. Le parvis est aménagé avec des plantations et les murs sont ornés de motifs remarquables.

Zone d’entrée de la mosquée

Vue d’ensemble de la mosquée de Cambridge depuis la route d’accès. La structure porteuse boisée en forme d’arbre dans la zone d’entrée ainsi que la coupole dorée en arrière-plan sont déjà visibles.

Vue extérieure de la mosquée de Cambridge

Prise de vue de l’espace extérieur devant la mosquée de Cambridge. On voit également quelques hommes en pleine conversation, assis sur les sièges autour de la fontaine orientale.

Vue de la cour intérieure de la mosquée

La prise de vue montre l’espace de lavage de la mosquée de Cambridge. Les tabourets sont en pierre et recouverts de planches de bois. Les robinets sont fixés sur un mur en carrelage bleu.

Espace pour le rituel de purification des fidèles

Vue détaillée du mur à motifs orientaux de la mosquée de Cambridge

Ornements orientaux

Nous utilisons des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site et pour permettre votre inscription si nécessaire. Veuillez consulter notre politique de cookies pour plus d’informations.