Highly innovative construction of school buildings: the modular timber school buildings developed by Blumer Lehmann specifically for educational facilities consist of two base models and combine rapid planning with optimal flexibility. Times and costs for planning and production are optimised. Schools built with modular timber construction can be designed both as temporary structures (to provide space when the number of school children increases rapidly) and as long-term replacement buildings. The base models ‘small’ and ‘large’ can be adapted to suit the specifics of each site and each set of requirements. What’s more, modular timber construction also fulfils all statutory norms as well as energy and structural requirements.

The idea:
Standardised, serially produced timber modules deliver flexible, high-quality teaching spaces for educational facilities within a short timeframe.

Implementation:
Two modular timber base models can be configured to suit each facility’s needs. Functional fixed spaces provide the foundation for planning, whether for a primary school, pre-school, nursery or secondary school.

The biggest benefit:
Children, young people and teaching staff all benefit from the healthy learning environment offered by timber modules. Clients enjoy the benefits of cost certainty, quality assurance and adherence to schedules. They can count on the verified quality of our standardised timber modules. Blumer Lehmann is a specialist with the right experience to take on the full planning, production and assembly process for these buildings.

The benefits for clients

  • Efficient and reliable planning and implementation
  • Base models can be adapted individually and flexibly to requirements and sites
  • Short planning times, rapid production and very short installation times on the construction site
  • Lower planning and construction costs
  • Reliable scheduling
  • No disruption to school operations – extension and conversion during the summer holidays
  • Long-term space planning and financing for schools
  • Various financing models
  • Sustainable construction with re-usable modules and natural construction materials
  • Individual design of floor plans, interior design and facades
  • Planning using Building Information Modelling (BIM)

Do you have a concrete school construction project?

Please fill out this field
Please fill out this field
Please fill out this field

Advice from a timber module construction professional?

Mr Lukas Osterwalder, Head of modular construction, will be pleased to assist you.

T +41 71 388 58 20
lukas.osterwalder@blumer-lehmann.ch

More news about Blumer Lehmann?

Timber modules, base model in small and large

Two fully optimised base models for timber modules come in small and large versions and offer everything a modern school or childcare facility needs. A range of options covers any other specific requirements. Different sizes are planned around two layout concepts, delivering timber-structure schools in the right combinations and configurations to suit every requirement. This results in unique and bespoke modular educational structures for 70 to 360 students that are tailored to each school’s needs. The timber modules can be used for structures of up to three storeys and can include as many primary spaces and infrastructure areas as necessary. The base models can be designed and utilised cleverly thanks to the versatile nature of the modules. Additional wet rooms, group rooms and other spaces like a canteen, lounge area, kitchen, school hall or seating areas can be incorporated, depending on the number of students and what is required of the building. Plenty of architectural freedom is afforded in designing the different storeys and the layout, how spaces are arranged and the choice of materials for the cladding both inside and out. Modular timber structures offer a range of options depending on specifications and expectations: elevated or recessed into the ground, accessed from the outside via arcades or steps, the choice of facade cladding and shading as well as the interior specifications, furnishings and building technology.

Cross section of timber module, base model in small and large

Primary spaces in the modular timber school structure

Primary spaces are fixed room units that define the basic grid. The ingenious combination and arrangement of classrooms, group and intervention rooms results in a huge range of layout design options. With good planning, the modular design of the structure supports a wide variety of teaching styles.

Classroom:

At least three modular building units are combined to create a classroom providing space for 20 to 24 children or young people.

Group/separation room:

Accessible from two sides and comprising two modular building units, a separation room allows concentrated work in groups independently of classes

Primary spaces with classrooms, group/intervention rooms as fixed room units in the layout

School infrastructure areas in timber

Teachers’ room:

Fitted out with a small kitchenette, the teachers’ room allows teaching staff to hold undisturbed conversations and prepare lessons.

Wet rooms:

The size of the wet rooms is based upon the dimensions of the overall modular educational construction and is compliant with local directives.

Technical room:

Electrical, heating and air-conditioning installations are housed in the technical room.

Stairwell: Internal access within the modular educational construction is provided via a stairwell as standard. External arcades in timber or steel, lifts or external access via external staircases can also be provided as an option.

Staff room, stairwell, wet rooms and plant rooms form the infrastructure areas

Virtual glimpse into a school made of timber

Timber school module

The 3D visualisation of a modular school shows the interior finishing and use of materials in a furnished classroom. The interactive tour provides a realistic experience of the space. Get a virtual glimpse.

Go to the 360-degree panorama of a modular school
3D visualisation affords a virtual glimpse into a school made of timber

Building technology in a modular school construction

A sophisticated building technology concept, adapted to a modular timber design, delivers safe and sustainable sanitary, heating, air-conditioning and electrical installations. The basic technical concept for modular timber school structures involves heat generation using an air source heat pump. Radiators allow for controlled heat distribution in the primary spaces and are either surface-mounted as standard or can be integrated into the window breast on request. Sanitary and electrical installations are fitted unconcealed as standard. Installing them in this low-tech way provides ease of access and allows them to be adapted to suit individual requirements. Vulnerabilities are minimised and building technology systems require less maintenance.

Primary spaces in a modular timber school with sophisticated building technology concept

Modern school building equipped with all the right technology

A central air outlet space in the infrastructure area, together with fresh air, ensure the rooms in modular timber constructions are efficiently ventilated. The doors and windows are also fitted with air vents. Where requested, the rooms can be equipped with a compact ventilation unit that is controlled by the CO₂ content of the air indoors. It also means that rooms can be cooled, allowing room temperatures to be controlled with accuracy. Another option is for the entire building to be equipped with a controlled ventilation system, or it can be fitted with a photovoltaic system for sustainable power generation. Such a sophisticated building technology concept means that sanitary, heating, air conditioning and electrical installations require little maintenance, are efficient and take up very little space in the school.

Staff room, stairwell, wet rooms and plant rooms form the infrastructure areas

School facade in timber

In the spotlight

Prefabricated facade elements offer protection and give modular timber schools their special character. Various cladding options are available for the facade design of the modular educational construction. Clients and architects can choose between a pure timber facade, PV surfaces or a combination of other materials. With individual facades and different surfaces, school buildings, children’s daycare centres or kindergartens can blend seamlessly into existing building complexes and offer inviting designs.

Facade elements offer protection and give character to modular timber schools

Facade design concept

With various options for arranging and dividing the facade elements and individual selection of materials, the character of the buildings can be adapted to the location.

Facade elements arranged differently and with a customisable choice of materials

Facade shading

Modern solar shading solutions complement the facade concept, casting shadows in a variety of ways and protecting the building against the wind and weather:

  • Awnings
  • Composite louvres
  • Folding sliding shutters
  • Sliding shutters
  • Continuous arcades
Modern sun protection solutions complete the facade design

High-precision modular school structure

The production line at the Blumer Lehmann factory makes more than 500 modular units a year under optimum conditions. A modular construction method with a high level of prefabrication significantly cuts down on build times, construction costs and time spent on the construction site, and guarantees the utmost in build quality.

Modular timber construction on the production line at the Blumer Lehmann factory

BIM – digital modular timber construction

Prefabricating standardised modules as well as digital planning and construction processes are the ideal parameters for using BIM to plan and implement every aspect of a project, regardless of scale. All companies involved in a project come together in the early stages to work on the same 3D model in an integrated and structured way, and all at the same time. Communicating with each other openly and on a regular basis is an important part of this. This renders all decisions, alterations and enquiries transparent and accountable. Investors, clients and architects can count on a high level of process certainty and construction quality and can gain an insight into the project at any time. Costs and schedules can be planned with precision.

Digital planning and construction processes create the best conditions for building with timber modules

Modular construction brochure

Educational space for the future

The brochure gives an overview of the schools of tomorrow; how both temporary and permanent modular school structures can be built in a modular timber design.

Read more about Educational space for the future
Brochure: Modular construction – Educational space for the future by Blumer Lehmann

References for modular timber school buildings

Visualisation of a single-storey, temporary school building in Berlin Schönefeld. The wooden facade stands out against the green meadow and blue sky.

School of the future – single-storey modular construction

The ‘flying classroom’ in Berlin is a pilot project for the school of the future. The flexible modular construction creates the foundations for innovative schooling concepts.

‘The flying classroom’ – go to the reference

The two-storey modular construction offers sufficient space for informative lessons.

School pavilion – space issues solved

This two-storey school pavilion in Beinwil am See provided much-needed space on an interim basis and offers mobility despite the exacting architecture.

‘Two-storey school pavilion’ – go to the reference

The modular construction not only provides a colourful classroom environment, it also has a vibrant facade.

School and pre-school pavilions – vibrant school spaces

The ‘Modular Zug’ uses the modular system to provide flexible and temporary school spaces. The different floor plans made possible by a modular timber design accommodate varying space requirements.

‘Colourful modular construction’ – go to the reference

Overall view of the ZM10 Sihlweid school pavilion in Zurich on the school grounds and with a school bilding in the background

‘Zurich Modular’ – temporary school space

The ‘Zurich Modular’ three-storey modular constructions provide temporary school space for a period of 10 to 15 years. The 110 timber modules will be re-used later at a different location.

‘ZM10 pavilions’ – go to the reference

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Une construction bien pensée pour les écoles: l’école en construction modulaire en bois, développée par Blumer Lehmann spécialement pour les établissements d’enseignement, allie rapidité de planification et flexibilité maximale. Le temps et les coûts de planification et de production sont optimisés. L’école en construction modulaire en bois peut être conçue comme un bâtiment temporaire (en cas de difficultés d’espace dues à l’augmentation rapide du nombre d’élèves) ou pour une utilisation à long terme, comme bâtiment de remplacement. Les deux modèles de base «petit» et «grand» peuvent être adaptés spécifiquement aux besoins et au terrain disponible. De plus, la construction modulaire en bois répond à toutes les normes légales ainsi qu’aux exigences en matière d’énergie et de physique du bâtiment.

L’idée:
Les modules en bois standardisés et fabriqués en série permettent de créer en peu de temps des salles de classe flexibles et de grande qualité pour les établissements d’enseignement.

La mise en œuvre:
Deux modèles de base, conçus par construction modulaire en bois, peuvent être configurés selon les besoins individuels. Des salles fonctionnelles prédéfinies de manière fixe servent de base à la planification – qu’il s’agisse d’un bâtiment scolaire, d’un jardin d’enfants, d’une garderie ou d’un gymnase.

Les grands atouts:
Les enfants, les adolescents et les enseignants jouissent du climat intérieur sain de la construction modulaire en bois. Les maîtres d’ouvrage, quant à eux, bénéficient d’une fiabilité élevée au niveau des coûts, des délais et de la qualité. Ils peuvent compter sur la qualité éprouvée de nos modules en bois standardisés. Blumer Lehmann est leur interlocuteur expérimenté et prend en charge l’ensemble de la planification, de la production et du montage des bâtiments.

Les avantages pour le maître d’ouvrage

  • Efficaces et sûrs à planifier et à mettre en œuvre
  • Modèles de base adaptables individuellement et de manière flexible aux besoins et aux terrains
  • Temps de planification court, production rapide et temps d’installation très réduit sur le chantier
  • Coûts de planification et de construction plus bas
  • Planification fiable des délais
  • Pas de perturbation du fonctionnement de l’école – extension et transformation pendant les vacances d’été
  • Planification et financement à long terme des salles de classe
  • Différents modèles de financement
  • Construction durable avec des modules réutilisables et des matériaux de construction naturels
  • Conception individuelle du plan de sol, de l’aménagement intérieur et de la façade
  • Planification à l’aide du Building Information Modeling BIM

Vous avez un projet de construction d'école spécifique ?

Veuillez remplir le champ
Veuillez remplir le champ
Veuillez remplir le champ

Conseils d'un professionnel de la construction modulaire en bois ?

M. Lukas Osterwalder, responsable de la construction modulaire, se fait un plaisir de vous aider.

T +41 71 388 58 20
lukas.osterwalder@blumer-lehmann.ch

Plus des nouvelles de Blumer Lehmann ?

Modèles de base en version petite et grande des modules en bois

Les deux modèles de base optimisés en version petite et grande des modules en bois répondent à tous les besoins d’un bâtiment scolaire ou d’une garderie moderne. Une vaste gamme d’options couvre toutes les autres exigences spécifiques. Pour une combinaison et une configuration individuelles de l’école en bois, la planification est basée sur deux concepts d’implantation de différentes tailles. Une construction scolaire modulaire unique et individuelle, pouvant accueillir 70 à 360 élèves, est mise en place pour répondre aux besoins respectifs. Les modules en bois peuvent être combinés pour former des bâtiments de trois étages maximum et être complétés à volonté avec des pièces principales et des locaux d’infrastructure. Grâce à leur modularité et à leur polyvalence, les modèles de base peuvent être judicieusement planifiés et exploités. En fonction du nombre de personnes accueillies et des besoins pratiques qui en découlent, davantage de sanitaires, de salles de groupe ou d’autres pièces telles qu’un réfectoire, une salle de repos, une cuisine, un amphithéâtre ou des coins de détente sont mis en place. La conception des étages et du plan, l’agencement des salles et le choix des matériaux pour les revêtements intérieurs et extérieurs offrent une grande liberté architecturale. Selon les spécifications et les idées, il existe différentes options pour la construction modulaire en bois: bâtiment surélevé ou abaissé sur le terrain, avec accès depuis l’extérieur par des pergolas ou des escaliers, type d’habillage de façade et d’ombrage ainsi qu’aménagement intérieur, mobilier et installations techniques.

Salles principales de l’école réalisée par construction modulaire en bois

Les salles principales comme unités d’espace prédéfinies de manière fixe définissent la grille de base. En combinant et en complétant intelligemment les salles de classe ainsi que les salles de groupe et de séparation lors de la conception du plan d’étage, on obtient une grande polyvalence. Judicieusement planifiée, la construction modulaire permet de mettre en œuvre les concepts scolaires les plus divers.

Salle de classe:

Au moins trois unités de construction modulaires forment ensemble une salle de classe dans laquelle 20 à 24 enfants ou adolescents peuvent être accueillis.

Salle de groupe / de séparation:

Accessible depuis deux côtés et composée de deux unités de construction modulaires, une salle de séparation permet un travail en groupe favorisant la concentration, indépendamment du reste de la classe.

Salles principales, salle de classe et salle de groupe / de séparation comme unités d’espace prédéfinies de manière fixe sur le plan

Espaces d’infrastructure de l’école en bois

Salle des professeurs:

Equipée d’une petite kitchenette, la salle des professeurs offre aux enseignants la possibilité d’échanger et de préparer leurs cours sans être dérangés.

Sanitaires:

La taille des sanitaires dépend des dimensions de l’ensemble de la construction modulaire et répond aux prescriptions locales en vigueur.

Local technique:

Les installations électriques, de chauffage et de climatisation sont situées dans le local technique.

Cage d’escalier: Par défaut, l’accès à l’intérieur de la construction modulaire éducative se fait par un escalier. Des pergolas extérieures en bois ou en acier, des ascenseurs ou un accès extérieur par des escaliers sont disponibles en option.

La salle des professeurs, la cage d’escalier, les sanitaires et le local technique forment les espaces d’infrastructure

Aperçu virtuel de l’école en bois

Module scolaire en bois

Le visuel en 3D de l’école modulaire montre l’aménagement intérieur et la matérialisation d’une salle de classe meublée. La visite interactive permet de découvrir la salle de manière réaliste. Vous en obtenez ainsi un aperçu virtuel.

Vers le panorama à 360 degrés de l’école modulaire
Le visuel en 3D offre un aperçu virtuel de l’école en bois

Les installations techniques du bâtiment scolaire modulaire

Un concept bien pensé pour les installations techniques, adapté à la méthode de construction modulaire en bois, garantit que les installations sanitaires, de chauffage, de climatisation et électriques sont sûres et respectueuses de l’environnement. Le concept technique de base de l’école réalisée par construction modulaire en bois prévoit la production de chaleur avec une pompe à chaleur à air. La distribution contrôlée de la chaleur dans les salles principales est assurée par des radiateurs qui sont installés en saillie en version standard ou encastrés dans le parapet en option. Les installations sanitaires et électriques sont posées de manière visible en version standard. Grâce à la faible technicité des installations, celles-ci restent facilement accessibles et adaptables individuellement. Le risque de défaillance est minimisé et les installations techniques nécessitent peu d’entretien.

Salles principales de l’école modulaire en bois avec un concept bien pensé pour les installations techniques

Un bâtiment scolaire moderne et bien équipé sur le plan technique

Une centrale de ventilation située dans les locaux réservés à l’infrastructure et approvisionnée en air frais assure une aération efficace de la construction modulaire en bois. Des ouvertures d’aération sont prévues aux fenêtres et aux portes. Sur demande, les pièces peuvent être équipées d’un système de ventilation compact qui est régulé en fonction du taux de CO₂ à l’intérieur. Elle permet également de rafraîchir les pièces, si bien que le climat ambiant peut être réglé avec précision. De plus, l’ensemble du bâtiment peut être équipé d’une installation de ventilation contrôlée ou un système photovoltaïque peut être installé pour la production d’énergie durable. Grâce au concept bien pensé de gestion des installations techniques, les installations sanitaires, de chauffage, de climatisation et électriques de l’école prennent peu de place, nécessitent peu d’entretien et sont efficaces.

La salle des professeurs, la cage d’escalier, les sanitaires et le local technique forment les espaces d’infrastructure

Façade de l’école en bois

Attirer l’attention

Les éléments de façade préfabriqués protègent l’école réalisée par construction modulaire en bois et lui confèrent son caractère unique. Diverses options de revêtement sont disponibles pour la conception de la façade de la construction modulaire éducative. Les maîtres d’ouvrage et les architectes ont le choix entre une façade entièrement en bois ou l’intégration d’autres matériaux jusqu’aux surfaces photovoltaïques. Avec des façades individuelles et des surfaces variées, les bâtiments scolaires, les garderies ou les jardins d’enfants peuvent être intégrés harmonieusement dans des complexes de bâtiments existants et conçus pour être accueillants.

Les éléments de façade protègent et donnent du cachet à l’école réalisée par construction modulaire en bois

Concept de conception de façades

Les différentes possibilités d’agencement et de division des éléments de façade ainsi que l’utilisation de différents matériaux confèrent aux bâtiments un caractère propre à chaque site.

Eléments de façade avec différents agencements et des matériaux individuels

Ombrage des façades

Des solutions modernes de protection solaire complètent le concept de façade en offrant de multiples possibilités d’ombrage et de protection contre le vent et les intempéries:

  • Stores en toile
  • Stores à lamelles
  • Volets coulissants pliants
  • Volets coulissants
  • Pergolas circulaires
Des solutions modernes de protection solaire complètent le concept de façade

Une construction scolaire modulaire de haute précision

Dans des conditions optimales, la ligne de production de l’usine Blumer Lehmann produit plus de 500 unités de modules par an. Grâce à son haut degré de préfabrication, la construction modulaire permet de réduire considérablement la durée du chantier et les coûts afférents, tout en garantissant la plus haute qualité de travail.

Construction de modules en bois sur la ligne de production de l’usine Blumer Lehmann

BIM – construction numérique de modules en bois

La préfabrication des modules standardisés et les processus numériques de planification et de construction créent des conditions idéales pour la planification et la mise en œuvre globales de projets de toute envergure dans le BIM. Toutes les entreprises impliquées dans le projet collaborent à un stade précoce, simultanément, en réseau et de manière structurée sur le même modèle numérique 3D et échangent des informations régulièrement et activement. Les décisions, modifications et demandes sont ainsi traçables de manière transparente. Les investisseurs, maîtres d’ouvrage et architectes peuvent compter sur une maîtrise des processus et une qualité de construction élevées tout en ayant la possibilité de visualiser le projet à tout moment. Les coûts et les délais peuvent être planifiés avec précision.

Les processus numériques de planification et de construction créent des conditions idéales pour la construction modulaire en bois

Brochure Construction modulaire

Un espace d’éducation porteur d’avenir

La brochure offre un aperçu de l’école du futur et de la manière dont les bâtiments scolaires modulaires peuvent être réalisés en bois, soit à titre temporaire, soit pour le long terme.

En savoir plus sur l’espace éducatif du futur
Brochure Construction modulaire – Un espace d’éducation porteur d’avenir

Références de bâtiments scolaires réalisés par construction modulaire en bois

Visuel d’une école temporaire d’un étage à Berlin Schönefeld. La façade en bois se détache de la prairie verte et du ciel bleu.

L’école du futur – construction modulaire de plain-pied

«Das fliegende Klassenzimmer» (la salle de classe volante) à Berlin est considérée comme un projet pilote pour l’école du futur. La construction modulaire flexible jette les bases de concepts novateurs pour la construction d’écoles.

«Das fliegende Klassenzimmer (la salle de classe volante)» – vers la référence

La construction modulaire à deux étages offre suffisamment d’espace pour des cours instructifs.

Pavillon scolaire – finis les problèmes d’espace

Le pavillon scolaire de deux étages à Beinwil am See a résolu les problèmes d’espace en peu de temps, alliant mobilité et architecture sophistiquée.

«Pavillon scolaire de deux étages» – vers la référence

Il n’y a pas que la salle de classe qui est pleine de vie, la façade de la construction modulaire est également très colorée.

Des pavillons pour les écoles et les jardins d’enfants – des espaces pleins de vie

«Modular Zoug» offre un espace scolaire flexible et temporaire grâce à son système de construction modulaire. Les différentes variantes de plan pour la construction modulaire en bois répondent à des besoins d’espace variables.

«Une construction modulaire colorée» – vers la référence

Vue d'ensemble du pavillon scolaire ZM10 de Sihlweid à Zurich depuis la cour de récréation avec l'école en arrière-plan.

«Züri-Modular» – des salles de classe temporaires

Les bâtiments modulaires de trois étages «Züri-Modular» offrent des salles de classe temporaires pour une durée de 10 à 15 ans. Les 110 modules en bois seront ensuite réutilisés sur un autre site.

«Pavillons ZM10» – vers la référence

Nous utilisons des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site et pour permettre votre inscription si nécessaire. Veuillez consulter notre politique de cookies pour plus d’informations.