Classic construction style reinterpreted

The spectacular clubhouse for the Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Club in South Korea was just the start. Six more extraordinary buildings followed:

  • the Learning Centre
  • the Recreation Centre
  • the Grand Hall underground foyer and restaurant
  • the three Condo A apartment buildings

We were responsible for planning all of the timber construction of all buildings, as well as production of the timber components and erection of the buildings themselves. The idea and concept for the additional buildings came from Shigeru Ban Architects. The Korean architect Kyeong Sik Yoon designed the clubhouse in collaboration with Tokyo-based Shigeru Ban Architects.

Overall view of all timber constructions

Between 2008 and 2018, we planned and constructed a total of seven extraordinary buildings at the Haesley Nine Bridges Resort in South Korea:

  • Clubhouse with restaurant, bar, wellness and spa area, plus a separate meeting pavilion
  • Learning Centre
  • Recreation Centre
  • underground Grand Hall
  • three Condo A apartment buildings

All the buildings are characterised by their extraordinary design features, such as their Free Form timber support structures.

General plan of the wooden buildings of Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort

Grand Hall

The Grand Hall, an underground space that has a strong emotional impact on visitors, boasts an impressive support structure made of 22 wooden columns. The glass roof of the Grand Hall provides an unobstructed view of the lake above, where 22 large planters containing real trees stand in a 10 cm deep pool of water. The glass roof of the Grand Hall and the lake’s water place a heavy load on the timber support structure underneath. They were the main factors behind the design of the Free Form cross-section and they define the statics of the timber support structure.

Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Club, view inside the hall in the Learning Centre, with escalator in the background

Recreation & Learning Centre

Both buildings – the Recreation Centre and Learning Centre – were given overhanging and sloped timber roof constructions that sit on a pure steel or reinforced concrete structure. The unusual shape gives both roofs a unique character. As a result of the raised entrance at the back of the building and the tapered roof edges, the roof of the three-storey Recreation Centre forms an oval-shaped wave with a surface area of 580 m2. The roof of the Learning Centre is also oval-shaped. The building’s structure is responsible for this curved roof, which covers almost 620 m2.

Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Club, full exterior shot of the Recreation Centre at night, with illuminated windows and underside of the roof

Condo A apartment buildings

Six Free Form double dormers and the many glass frontages define the look of the Condo A apartment buildings. The connections between the timber construction and the glass frontages proved to be a particularly challenging element of the planning. Our timber construction planning team drew up the detailed pre-assembly and erection plans, and generated the production data based on a 3D implementation model. The floor and ceiling elements for the three buildings were prefabricated at our factory at Erlenhof, including the assembly, cut-outs and surface treatment. Our eight-person team on site at the golf club processed and assembled the huge number of elements in the Condo A apartment buildings.

Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Club, view inside a suite with sofa in the Timber House, Condo A

The clubhouse with the treetop canopy

For our first commission at the Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort in Yeoju-Gun in South Korea, we planned and constructed a clubhouse with a restaurant, bar and wellness and spa area. The idea and concept for the unique building came from Korean architect Kyeong Sik Yoon and Tokyo-based Shigeru Ban Architects. The meeting pavilion by the water also incorporates the architecture of the clubhouse.

View of the two-storey hall of the golf club. The wooden supporting structure dominates the room while the vast golf course can be seen through the huge window in the background.

Find out more about the clubhouse with the treetop canopy

For the media

Find out more

We use cookies to enhance your experience of our website and to enable you to register when necessary. Please see our Cookie Policy for more information.

Un style architectural classique réinterprété

Le clubhouse spectaculaire du club de golf «Haesley Nine Bridges» en Corée du Sud a marqué le début. Six autres bâtiments extraordinaires ont suivi:

  • le Learning Centre
  • le Recreation Centre
  • le foyer souterrain «Grand Hall» avec restaurant
  • les trois immeubles d’appartements Condo A

Nous étions responsables de l’ensemble de la planification de la construction en bois de tous les bâtiments, ainsi que de la production des éléments en bois et du montage. Le cabinet Shigeru Ban Architects est à l’origine de l’idée et du concept des bâtiments annexes. Le club-house a été conçu par l’architecte coréen Kyeong Sik Yoon en collaboration avec Shigeru Ban Architects de Tokyo.

Vue d’ensemble de toutes les constructions en bois

De 2008 à 2018, nous avons planifié et réalisé au total sept bâtiments exceptionnels au Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort en Corée du Sud:

  • clubhouse avec restaurant, bar, espace bien-être et spa et pavillon de réunion séparé
  • Learning Centre
  • Recreation Centre
  • Grand Hall souterrain
  • trois immeubles d’appartements Condo A

Tous les bâtiments se caractérisent par leur construction inhabituelle, par exemple avec des structures porteuses en bois de forme libre.

Plan général des bâtiments en bois du Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort

Grand Hall

Le Grand Hall, une salle souterraine qui suscite un fort impact émotionnel chez les visiteurs, possède une impressionnante structure porteuse composée de 22 colonnes en bois. Le toit en verre du Grand Hall offre une vue sur le lac qui se trouve au-dessus. On y trouve 22 grandes jardinières contenant de vrais arbres dans un bassin d’eau de 10 cm de profondeur. Le toit en verre du Grand Hall et l’eau du lac font peser de lourdes charges sur la structure porteuse en bois qui se trouve en dessous. Ces charges ont déterminé comme critère central la conception de la coupe transversale de forme libre, tout comme la statique de la structure porteuse en bois.

Club de golf Haesley Nine Bridges, vue intérieure du hall du Learning Centre, avec escalator en arrière-plan

Recreation & Learning Centre

Les deux bâtiments – le Recreation Centre et le Learning Centre – ont été dotés de structures de toit en bois en porte-à-faux et inclinées, qui sont placées sur une structure en acier pur ou en acier-béton. De par leur forme inhabituelle, les deux toits confèrent aux bâtiments leur caractère particulier. Ainsi, le toit du Recreation Centre de trois étages forme une vague ovale d’une surface de 580 m2, créée par l’entrée surélevée à l’arrière du bâtiment et les bords biseautés du toit. Le toit du Learning Centre est également de forme ovale. C’est la structure du bâtiment qui est à l’origine de cette forme de toit élancée d’une superficie de près de 620 m2.

Club de golf Haesley Nine Bridges, vue d’ensemble extérieure du Recreation Centre de nuit, avec fenêtres éclairées et dessous du toit

Immeubles d’appartements Condo A

Six lucarnes à double pente, de forme libre, caractérisent l’apparence des immeubles d’appartements Condo A. Les raccordements de la construction en bois aux façades vitrées se sont avérés particulièrement complexes lors de la planification. Sur la base du modèle d’exécution 3D, notre équipe de conception de la construction en bois a élaboré les plans détaillés de prémontage et de montage ainsi que les données de production. Dans notre usine d’Erlenhof, nous avons préparé les éléments de plancher et de plafond des trois bâtiments, du taillage à la découpe et au traitement de surface. Sur le site du terrain de golf, notre équipe de 8 personnes a transformé et installé l’énorme quantité d’éléments des immeubles d’appartements Condo A.

Club de golf Haesley Nine Bridges, vue intérieure de la chambre à coucher avec 2 lits dans la Timber House, Condo A

Le clubhouse avec les cimes d’arbres

Dans le cadre de notre premier mandat au Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort à Yeoju-Gun, en Corée du Sud, nous avons planifié et réalisé un clubhouse avec restaurant, bar, espace bien-être et spa. L’architecte coréen Kyeong Sik Yoon et Shigeru Ban Architects de Tokyo sont à l’origine de l’idée et du concept de ce bâtiment unique. Le pavillon de réunion au bord de l’eau reprend également l’architecture du clubhouse.

Vue sur le hall à deux étages du club de golf. La structure porteuse en bois domine l’espace, en arrière-plan on voit le terrain de golf à travers d’immenses fenêtres.

Découvrez-en davantage sur le clubhouse avec les cimes d’arbres

Pour les médias

En savoir plus

Nous utilisons des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site et pour permettre votre inscription si nécessaire. Veuillez consulter notre politique de cookies pour plus d’informations.