Non-standard to the highest degree and unique in every detail. That’s Free Form, the premier class of timber construction. Fascinating Free Form timber supporting frameworks and shell structures create timber constructions that will astound you. Some timber construction appears almost impossible. Free Form structures made from wood amaze onlookers with their complexity and set themselves apart with the highly individual nature of each component.

We make architectural visions a reality in accordance with the rules of engineering and timber construction. State-of-the-art planning and production methods open up new possibilities and redefine the limits of what can be achieved. Ideas for complex constructions and dynamic forms become tangible and are expressed through distinctive timber architecture.

Making extraordinary timber construction a reality

From visionary to amazingly simple, we deliver extraordinary timber constructions worldwide; on time, on budget and to the highest quality. Our qualified personnel, digital planning tools and modern, in-house CNC production make it all possible. We are the point of contact at every stage of a project: from technical development and construction to assembly. Coordinating the various work stages – developing the geometry, structural engineering, building physics, production, logistics and assembly – is one of the core responsibilities of our experienced project managers.

From idea to finished Free Form construction

  • Project development 
  • Parametric planning
  • 3D modelling
  • Mock-up, scale display model
  • Project management
  • Timber construction planning, engineering
  • Assembly, logistics

3D modelling of timber structures

The key to innovative timber constructions

Modern timber construction starts in a virtual space, where a 3D digital model, also known as a parametric model, enables different versions of highly complex construction projects to be digitally programmed and tested. Creativity has almost no limits here. Thanks to parametric planning and programming, we can successfully harmonise even the most unusual forms, functions and constructions and produce these on our systems at competitive prices.

3D planning of a timber construction and creation of a parametric model on the computer.<br/>

Project management for modern timber constructions

organising, coordinating, managing

Free Forms need a project management team that is at the centre of construction activity and involved at every stage of the planning and construction process. Coordinating and managing subcontractors and suppliers requires a high level of expertise. The project manager and their team ensure that the timber construction delivers high-quality workmanship and that deadlines and costs are adhered to. It is also their job to organise the complex logistics, which often involves huge distances on foreign projects. The project management team also acts as a link between the site manager and client to ensure that the timber Free Form construction progresses smoothly. Organising, coordinating and managing: the project management of complex timber constructions requires a range of specialist skills.

Project manager and team at the centre of the construction process for Free Form projects.

CNC Free Form production

For complex timber architecture

Complex timber constructions are an engineering challenge faced daily at Blumer Lehmann, and one we’re ideally equipped for. Depending on project requirements, we’ll find the right machine at our production facility. The five-axle CNC trimming line, for example, is the centrepiece of our Free Form timber production, enabling even the most complex components to be processed.

Processing of complex components on the CNC trimming line at the Blumer Lehmann factory.

Magician’s hat Knie

Curved timber supporting structures

At the heart of the zoological gardens at the Knies Kinderzoo in Rapperswil, Blumer Lehmann constructed a 26-metre-high Free Form tent-like pavilion in timber that creates a visual highlight in the zoo. The multifunctional building is a combination of prefabricated timber construction and Free Form and serves as an events venue. The cantilever pavilion roof is made from spruce and fir wood and was constructed as a shell-shaped support structure, producing the special roof shape and creating a circus atmosphere inside the magician’s hat. The magician’s hat is a modern timber construction consisting of two lots of 12 paired and symmetrical roof elements. Precise parametric planning and pre-programming guaranteed cost-effective production. The prefabricated timber structures also optimised the construction time and ensured high-quality workmanship.

Magician’s hat Knie – the story behind the construction project
The curved timber creates a circus-like atmosphere inside the magician’s hat.

New Free Form headquarters for Swatch

Precision timber support structure

Blumer Lehmann produced one of the world’s biggest timber constructions for the Swatch headquarters in Biel. The serpentine timber construction amazes onlookers with its unusual dimensions and astonishing Free Form wooden support framework. The organic shape of the three-dimensional facade has a surface area of over 11,000 m2 and stretches across a distance of more than 250 metres. The Free Form timber constructions are a combination of timber framework and prefabricated timber construction, all of which require the use of state-of-the-art technology. Timber support structures that are as precise as a Swiss clock mechanism.

Swatch headquarters – a piece of timber construction history
Bird’s eye view of the timber frame construction for Swatch’s main building. Free Form timber construction of the highest precision.

Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort Free Form timber construction

Golf resort with impressive timber architecture

Seven timber buildings were constructed in South Korea between 2008 and 2018. Timber Free Forms are a defining characteristic of the golf resort and include a clubhouse, Learning Centre, Recreation Centre, underground Grand Hall and three apartment buildings. The Learning Centre features a sloping roof and oval timber construction. The curved roof stretches between two monolithic, stone-clad entrance buildings. In contrast, the 21 timber columns in the clubhouse construction resemble an overhanging treetop canopy. The timber architecture is inspired by nature and traditional Korean basketwork.

Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort
External photograph of the Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort Learning Centre. Illuminated timber architecture at night, with the pool in the foreground.<br/>

Production of a parametric model

CNC production of wooden On trainer

Based on a 3D model and working with a well-dimensioned wooden block, the five-axle CNC machine at Blumer Lehmann created a finished wooden On trainer in no time at all. The precision of the oversized three-dimensional wooden trainer is now fascinating visitors at the Switzerland Innovation Park in Zurich.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to offer you the best possible experience of our website. This includes cookies that are necessary for the running of our website in addition to those used for statistical purposes, additional functions or for displaying personalised content. It is up to you to decide which categories you would like to allow. Please note that the settings you choose may mean that some of the functions of this website will no longer be available to you.

On ne peut imaginer plus atypique et unique jusque dans les moindres détails. Le Free Form est la classe royale de la construction en bois. Les fascinantes structures porteuses et enveloppes de formes libres créent des bâtiments en bois qui ont de quoi émerveiller. Certaines constructions en bois semblent presque impossibles. Les formes libres en bois étonnent par leur complexité et se distinguent par le caractère unique de chacun de leurs éléments de construction.

Nous faisons de vos projets architecturaux une réalité en respectant toutes les règles d’ingénierie et de la construction en bois. Les méthodes de conception et de production sophistiquées ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités et redéfinissent les limites du possible. Les idées de constructions complexes et de formes dynamiques deviennent tangibles et trouvent leur expression dans une architecture en bois très caractéristique.

Réaliser des constructions en bois extraordinaires

Visionnaires ou étonnamment simples, nous réalisons des constructions en bois extraordinaires dans le monde entier; de grande qualité en respectant les délais ainsi que le budget. Cela est possible grâce à nos collaborateurs qualifiés, à nos outils de conception numériques et à notre installation de production CNC moderne. Nous sommes votre interlocuteur à tous les stades du projet: du développement technique au montage en passant par la réalisation. Développement des géométries, statique, physique du bâtiment, production, logistique et montage: coordonner les différentes étapes des travaux figure parmi les missions essentielles de nos chefs de projet expérimentés.

D’un projet à un bâtiment Free Form

  • Développement de projet 
  • Conception paramétrique
  • Modélisation 3D
  • Maquette, modèle à l’échelle
  • Gestion de projet
  • Conception des constructions en bois et ingénierie
  • Montage, logistique

Modélisation 3D des constructions en bois

La clé pour des constructions en bois innovantes

La construction moderne en bois commence dans un espace virtuel: un modèle numérique 3D, également appelé modèle paramétrique, permet de programmer numériquement des projets de construction hautement complexes et de les tester dans un grand nombre de variantes. Il n’y a guère de limites à la créativité. Grâce à la conception paramétrique et à la programmation, nous pouvons concilier les formes, les fonctions et les constructions même les plus extravagantes et les produire sur nos installations à des tarifs concurrentiels.

Planification 3D d’une construction en bois et création d’un modèle paramétrique sur ordinateur.

Gestion de projets de constructions modernes en bois

organiser, coordonner, gérer

Les formes libres nécessitent une équipe de gestion de projet qui soit au cœur du processus de construction, et ce, dans toutes les phases du processus de conception et de construction. La coordination et la gestion des sous-traitants et des fournisseurs exigent un haut niveau d’expertise. Le chef de projet et l’équipe veillent à ce que les constructions en bois soient de haute qualité et à ce que les délais et les coûts soient respectés. Ils organisent également la logistique complexe, qui bien souvent se déroule sur d’énormes distances à l’étranger. Afin de garantir le bon avancement des travaux de construction en bois de formes libres, l’équipe de gestion de projet assure le lien entre le chef de chantier et le maître d’ouvrage. Organisation, coordination et direction: la gestion de projets de constructions complexes en bois requiert des compétences avérées.

Chef de projet et équipe au cœur du processus de construction des projets Free Form.

Production CNC Free Form

Pour une architecture complexe en bois

La construction en bois complexe constitue un défi quotidien pour le service d’ingénierie de la construction en bois de Blumer Lehmann, pour lequel notre équipe et nos installations sont idéalement équipées. Selon les besoins du projet, nous avons recours à la machine adaptée sur notre site de production, p. ex. la pièce maîtresse pour la production de formes libres en bois: le centre d’usinage CNC à cinq axes permet d’usiner même les éléments de construction les plus complexes.

Usinage d’élément de construction complexes sur le centre d’usinage CNC de l’usine Blumer Lehmann.

Chapeau magique Knie

Structures porteuses courbées en bois

Au cœur du zoo pour enfants Knie à Rapperswil, Blumer Lehmann a réalisé un bâtiment de 26 mètres de haut qui, avec ses formes libres en bois, constitue un pavillon en forme de tente tout à fait extraordinaire. Ce bâtiment multifonctionnel représente une combinaison d’éléments de construction en bois et de formes libres et sert de lieu de divertissement et d’événements. Le toit autoportant de la tente a été réalisé en bois d’épicéa et de sapin sous la forme d’une structure porteuse en coque, ce qui rend possible la forme spéciale du toit et crée une atmosphère de cirque à l’intérieur du chapeau de magicien. Le chapeau de magicien est une construction moderne en bois composée de deux fois douze éléments de toiture symétriques et disposés par paires. La planification paramétrique exacte et la préprogrammation ont permis une production rationnelle en termes de coûts. Les constructions en bois préfabriquées ont permis d’optimiser le temps de construction et de garantir une qualité d’exécution élevée.

Le chapeau de magicien de Knie – histoire du projet de construction
Le toit incurvé en bois crée une atmosphère de cirque à l’intérieur du chapeau de magicien.

Le nouveau siège principal de Swatch, construit en formes libres

Structures porteuses en bois de haute précision

Pour le siège principal du groupe Swatch à Bienne, Blumer Lehmann a réalisé l’une des plus grandes constructions en bois du monde. La construction bois en forme de serpent impressionne par ses dimensions inhabituelles et une structure porteuse en bois de formes libres qui suscite l’émerveillement. La forme organique de la façade en trois dimensions, d’une surface de plus de 11 000 m2, s’étend sur une longueur de 250 mètres. Les constructions en bois de formes libres combinent la construction à ossature en bois et la construction en éléments de bois et requièrent des technologies de pointe. Des structures porteuses en bois aussi précises que l’horlogerie suisse.

Le siège principal de Swatch – un bout d’histoire de la construction en bois
Vue aérienne de la construction à ossature en bois du bâtiment principal de Swatch. Construction en bois de formes libres de la plus haute précision.

Construction en bois Free Form: Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort

Un Golf Resort à l’architecture en bois impressionnante

Sept bâtiments ont été construits en bois en Corée du Sud entre 2008 et 2018. Des formes libres en bois caractérisent le Golf Resort, qui comprend un clubhouse, un Learning Centre, un Recreation Centre, le Grand Hall souterrain et trois immeubles d’appartements. Le Learning Centre présente un toit en porte-à-faux réalisé dans une construction ovale en bois. La forme élancée du toit s’étend entre deux bâtiments d’accès monolithiques revêtus de pierre. Les structures en bois du clubhouse, avec ses 21 colonnes en bois, rappellent quant à elles des arbres aux cimes en surplomb. Une construction artistique en bois inspirée de la nature et d’un panier tressé traditionnel coréen.

Golf Resort Haesley Nine Bridges
Vue extérieure du Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Resort Learning Centre. Architecture en bois éclairée la nuit avec un étang au premier plan.

Production d’un modèle paramétrique

Usinage CNC de la chaussure de sport On en bois

A partir d’une modélisation 3D et d’une ébauche en bois bien dimensionnée, une chaussure de sport On en bois est créée sur mesure en peu de temps sur la machine CNC à cinq axes de Blumer Lehmann. La précision de cette chaussure de sport surdimensionnée et en trois dimensions fascine les visiteurs du Switzerland Innovation Park à Zurich.

Ce site Internet utilise des cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience possible sur le site Internet. Il s’agit notamment de cookies qui sont nécessaires au fonctionnement du site, ainsi que de ceux qui sont utilisés à des fins statistiques, pour des fonctions supplémentaires ou pour afficher un contenu personnalisé. Vous pouvez décider vous-même des catégories que vous voulez autoriser. Veuillez noter qu’il est possible que vous ne disposiez plus de toutes les fonctionnalités du site en fonction de vos paramètres.